skip to content
Primary navigation

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

  • The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is the Bill of Rights for individuals with disabilities.

    The ADA has five titles, two of which directly affect governmental entities. Title I prohibits discrimination in all aspects of employment, and Title II prohibits discrimination in providing public services, programs and activities. Both titles require a public entity to make reasonable accommodations and/or modifications to individuals with disabilities to allow them to participate fully in public employment and public services.

    Governor Dayton signed Executive Order 14-14, providing for Increased State Employment for Individuals with Disabilities on August 4, 2014 tasking Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) with developing best practices for recruitment and retention for individuals with disabilities.  

    Steps for Success

    Step 1: Create an Inclusive Work Culture

    Step 2: Recruit a Diverse Candidate Pool

    Step 3: Ensure a Fair and Equitable Hiring and Selection Process

    Step 4: Retain Your Human Capital

    Step 5: Leverage Your Resources 

back to top