skip to content
Primary navigation

External Availabilities by Geographical Areas (updated 8/10/2020)

The source of the statistical data is American Community Survey, 5 year estimates (2014-2018) compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
You may use these data for completing an availability analysis and utilization/underutilization analysis. 

Select Your Regions

Select a reasonable recruitment area where workers living within commuting distance of your agency for each EEO job category. The reasonable recruitment may be a broader recruitment area for hard-to-fill positions such as MN state or even the U.S. as a whole.
Select an occupation that reflects your workforce the best for each EEO job category.
Please visit the definitions page for help terms in data.

Large regions

Include all 50 states
Include all counties in Minnesota
Include all counties except the counties in the Minneapolis-St Paul-Bloomington MSA.

Metropolitan Areas

Includes Itasca County (MN), Carlton (South) County (MN), Cass & Aitkin Counties (MN), St. Louis (North) County (MN), St. Louis (Southeast) County (MN), Koochiching County (MN), and Lake & Cook Counties (MN)
Includes Hennepin County (MN), Ramsey County (MN), Dakota County (MN), Anoka County (MN), Washington County (MN), Scott County (MN), Wright County (MN), Carver County (MN), Sherburne County (MN), St. Croix County (WI), Chisago County (MN), Pierce County (WI), Isanti County (MN), Le Sueur County (MN), and Mille Lacs County (MN)
Include Blue Earth County, Nicollet County, and Waseca County.
Includes Minnesota’s Fillmore County, Dodge County, Houston County, Olmsted County, Wabasha County.
Includes Minnesota’s Benton County, Sherburne County, and Stearns County.

Micropolitan Areas

Includes Cass County (MN), Crow Wing County (MN), Morrison County (MN), and Aitkin County (MN).
Incudes Scott County (MN), Dakota County (MN), Le Sueur County (MN), Waseca County (MN), Stelle County (MN), Dodge County (MN), Goodhue County (MN), and Rice County (MN).
Includes Wilkin County (MN), Traverse County (MN), Grant County (MN), Douglas County (MN), and Otter Tail County (MN).
Winona County (MN), Wabasha County (MN), Fillmore County (MN) and Houston County (MN).
back to top