facebook app skip to content
Primary navigation

DEED Developments Blog

DEED Developments blog header

Recognizing Success in Foreign Markets

8/22/2019 9:30:00 AM

MTO Executive Director Gabrielle Gerbeau

We're pleased to announce that the Minnesota Trade Office is accepting nominations for the 33rd Governor's International Trade Awards.

These awards honor Minnesota companies that have shown exceptional progress and success in foreign markets and recognize the tremendous positive impact that exports and trade have on the state's overall economy. Last year, we reached a record-high: Minnesota businesses exported $23 billion worth of goods to countries all over the world.

We'll be accepting nominations for the Governor's International Trade Awards until Friday, September 13, 2019. The winners will be recognized at an event on Friday, October 11.

Additional information and nomination instructions are available on the DEED website.

Those honored at the ceremony will join the ranks of previous award winners, such as:

Crown Iron Works Company

Crown Iron Works is a global supplier of oilseed extraction technology, refining plants and equipment. Half of the world's soybeans are processed with Crown Iron equipment, a nod to its beginnings as a small Minnesota blacksmith shop. Over 400 Crown-designed and -built oilseed plants are in 50 countries. Their global headquarters is located in Blaine.

Great Plains Processing

Since 2000, Great Plains Processing has become a global leader in custom spray drying and blending for the feed industry. In addition to manufacturing, the company annually distributes several thousand tons of finished product to over 40 countries from their facility in Luverne.

DCM Tech

Founded in 1974 in Winona, DCM designs and manufactures machine tools and surface-grinding equipment. Sales and service are handled factory-direct. DCM's customer base is primarily in North America, but its market has grown to include 19 countries.

Stories like these inspire me, and I can't wait to see what kinds of new and innovative companies we will recognize this year.

– Gabrielle Gerbaud, Executive Director, Minnesota Trade Office


back to top