skip to content
Primary navigation

Glossary and More Data for QCEW

View: QCEW Home | Data Tool | Instructions | About | Location Quotient Tool | LMI Help


Domains are the highest NAICS categories that consist of two aggregations representing either goods or service producing industries.


An establishment is defined as the smallest operating business unit for which information can be provided on the cost of resources materials, labor, and capital employed to produce output. An establishment is generally a single physical location where business is conducted or where services or industrial operations are performed.

North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)

NAICS is an industry classification system that groups establishments into industries based on the activities in which they are primarily engaged. It is a comprehensive system covering the entire field of economic activities, producing, and non-producing. The structure of NAICS is hierarchical; there are 2 domains, 11 super-sectors, 20 sectors, and 1,196 industries in NAICS. NAICS provides common industry definitions for Canada, Mexico, and the United States.


A classification system based upon the controlling interest of the establishment primarily designed to distinguish between governmental and non-governmental establishments.


Non-governmental establishment.

Super Sector

Super sectors are the second highest NAICS categories. These 11 categories represent general categories of economic activity.


Sectors are the third highest NAICS categories. These 20 categories represent more specific categories of economic activity where the aggregated industries that make up each sector are more closely related.

More QCEW data is available from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

back to top