Substance use disorder treatment
Substance use disorder treatment programs are licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245G to provide treatment services to assist and support a person's efforts to recover from a substance use disorder. Programs assess a client's needs, develop planned interventions and provide services to address a client’s needs, coordinate services with other providers, and reassess the client on a regular basis.
Substance use disorder treatment programs may be licensed as outpatient or residential and may also be certified to provide the additional services of adolescent treatment, people with children in treatment, co-occurring disorder treatment or opioid treatment.
Residential substance use disorder treatment programs that serve people 16 or 17 years of age may be licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245G or Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960
Residential substance use disorder treatment programs serving people younger than 16 years of age must be licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960.
Information on how to apply for a license under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960 is available at: Children’s residential facilities.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
On June 30, the Minnesota Legislature voted to end the state peacetime emergency effective Thursday, July 1, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. Licensing’s COVID-19 webpage
provides counties, tribes, providers and members of the public with the most up-to-date information about the timelines for ending the modifications to licensing or certification requirements that were in place during the COVID-19 peacetime emergency.