skip to content
Primary navigation

Provider credentialing and standards

Credentialing mental health providers and setting standards for service delivery help ensure the quality of mental health care for children and youth. The Minnesota Legislature approved Children’s Therapeutic Services and Supports, Children’s Mental Health Crisis Response Services and Youth ACT (Assertive Community Treatment). DHS oversees these applications and approval processes that require mental health providers to meet certain criteria to provide services and receive reimbursement for Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP).

Provider credentialing and program standards include many components, such as:

  • Administrative infrastructure
  • Clinical supervision and infrastructure
  • Cultural competency
  • Education, training and staff development
  • Ethical and professional standards
  • Licensure
  • Medical record maintenance
  • Professional experience and qualifications

The goal is to make sure that mental health providers have the capacity and competency to deliver the right services in the right settings to best meet the mental health needs of children. DHS supports maintaining and expanding a culturally diverse, credentialed workforce prepared to respond to the needs of children and their families.

back to top