Legal Nonlicensed One-Time Payments
The Great Start Compensation Support Payment Program was signed into law in May 2023, creating a new program designed to support the child care industry and early childhood educators. This program created Legal Nonlicensed One-Time Payments, which provide one-time payments of $500 to legal nonlicensed providers registered with the Child Care Assistance Program to cover registration and startup costs. Legal nonlicensed providers are not eligible for the monthly Compensation Support Payments.
Legal Nonlicensed One-Time Payments are administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services. Applications are available and accepted on a rolling basis.
Application process and award amount
The Minnesota Department of Human Services will automatically send newly registered legal nonlicensed (LNL) providers a One-Time Payment application.
Legal nonlicensed (LNL) providers can submit their LNL One-Time Payment applications to DHS by either of the two below methods.
- Complete, sign, and submit the below LNL One-Time Payment application electronically to DHS at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Print, complete, sign, and mail the below LNL One-Time Payment application to Child Care Aware of Minnesota at the below mailing address.
Child Care Aware of Minnesota
10 River Park Plaza, Suite 820
Saint Paul, MN 55107
There is no application period nor deadline to submit a LNL One-Time Payment application. An application can be submitted to the department at any time.
All providers who apply and are determined to be eligible will receive this one-time payment of $500. Payments will be in the form of mailed checks from Minnesota Management and Budget. Checks will be mailed to the mailing address that providers have on record with their local Child Care Assistance Program administrators.