skip to content
Primary navigation

Certified child care centers

The Department of Human Services is responsible for certifying and monitoring license-exempt child care centers that participate in the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP). Certification helps protect the health and safety of children by requiring that providers meet minimum standards for care and physical environment. 

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

On June 30, the Minnesota Legislature voted to end the state peacetime emergency effective Thursday, July 1, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. Licensing’s COVID-19 webpage provides counties, tribes, providers and members of the public with the most up-to-date information about the timelines for ending the modifications to licensing or certification requirements that were in place during the COVID-19 peacetime emergency.

News and updates

Find details about recent communications regarding Certification below. For previously published items visit the archives page.

Certification application process

Centers will can signify their interest in becoming certified by completing a Certification Pre-application Information Form (PDF) and submitting it to the Department. Information provided on this form will allow the Department to send applicants a link to an online application platform to complete the application process.

In the online application platform, centers will complete the application process by submitting these seven documents.  All seven documents must be complete and approved prior to being granted certification:

Legislative changes

Health and safety requirements

Background study requirements

Staffing requirements

Training requirements

Forms and other documents

Contact us

Certification renewals, fees and changes


back to top