Housing Support (formerly known as Group Residential Housing) payment rates
In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature approved a change that renamed the state’s Group Residential Housing (GRH) program. Effective 7/1/17, GRH is known as Housing Support to better reflect that people can receive room and board and Supplemental Services in their own home and not just in group settings. The Housing Support program is a state funded program that provides an income supplement to over 20,000 recipients each month to pay for rent and food. All of those supported by the program are at risk of institutional placement or homelessness. In some cases, Housing Support may pay a supplemental amount to the basic rate to provide other services. The following provides information on the three types of Housing Support rates and how they are identified in the Minnesota Department of Human Services payment and information systems.
Room and board rate
Effective July 1, 2021, this base rate is $954 per month. It is automatically adjusted each year based on changes made in the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR) of the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program and changes in the value of food support for an individual.
Housing Support is a resource for adults with low-incomes who have a disability or are 65 or older. Counties and some tribes administer the Housing Support program for the state and are responsible for determining eligibility.
Housing Support room and board payments are made directly to the provider of housing on behalf of the eligible person. Providers in many different types of housing may enter into a Housing Support agreement with their county, including adult foster care (family and corporate), board and lodging establishments, non-certified boarding care homes, and registered housing with services establishments.
Supplemental Service rate
The supplemental service rate can only be paid in specific types of settings:
- Board and lodge with special services
- Supervised living facilities
- Boarding care homes that are not certified for Medicaid
- Registered housing with services establishments
- Long-term homeless supportive housing
- Tribe-certified housing
Effective July 1, 2013, the supplemental service rate is $482.84. Counties negotiate the supplemental service rate with providers and cannot exceed the maximum unless the county agrees to pay the amount over the maximum with county funds, or the Legislature has specifically authorized a higher rate for a facility. These providers typically serve clients who have mental illness or substance use disorder and are not eligible for home and community based waiver services.
Difficulty of Care
The maximum payment for the Difficulty of Care (DOC) for individuals in adult foster care equals the maximum standard for the Housing Support Supplemental Service Rate ($482.84). Eligibility criteria is determined by the county. Individuals are not eligible for difficulty of care payments if services are eligible under home and community based waiver programs.