skip to content
Primary navigation

Children’s Mental Health Respite care services

Children’s Mental Health Respite Care Services Grants support a child with an emotional disturbance (ED) and severe emotional disturbance (SED) and their family. The purpose of the CMH Respite Care Grant is to:

  • Provide the parent or caregiver a temporary break/relief from the care of the child
  • Reduce family stress and improve child and family functioning.
  • Prevent out-of-home placement and promote family preservation.

The Children’s Mental Health (CMH) Respite Care Grant is authorized under  Minnesota Statute 245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (3). Minnesota Statutes 245.4889 Subdivision 4 specifies the scope of allowable expenses the CMH respite Care grant program.

Respite care services may also include:

  • Recreational, sport, and non-sport extracurricular activities and programs for the child including camps, clubs, lessons, group outings, sports , or other activities and programs
  • Family activities, camps, and retreats that the family does together and provide a break from the family's circumstance
  • Cultural programs and activities for the child and family designed to address the unique needs of individuals who share a common language, racial, ethnic, or social background
  • Costs of transportation, food, supplies, and equipment directly associated with approved respite care services and expenses necessary for the child and family to access and participate in respite care services

For further information,  please contact:

back to top