skip to content
Primary navigation

DC:0-5: Diagnostic Assessment for Young Children

The Diagnostic Classification of Mental Health and Developmental Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood (DC: 0-5) is an age-appropriate approach for assessing infants, toddlers and preschool children. This tool classifies mental health and developmental disorders in children from birth through five years old considered in relationship to their families, culture and communities.
Diagnostic Assessment (Provider Manual)
DC: 0-5 also can help to establish whether a child qualifies for early childhood intervention services - Help Me Grow. Since children go through different developmental stages and life experiences, it is necessary to periodically reassess diagnoses.
DHS promotes the use of DC: 0-5 by coordinating statewide training for mental health professionals. Ongoing monthly clinical consultation and supervision groups offer mental health professionals additional feedback and support.

Learn more about Minnesota’s efforts to integrate DC:0-5 into state policy and systems: Advancing Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health

back to top