People who have direct contact or access to vulnerable adults and children are required to have a background study. Direct contact means providing face-to-face care, training, supervision, counseling, or medication assistance to the people being served by an entity. The background study involves checking an individual’s name, and/or fingerprints against criminal, government, and social services databases. These Minnesota statutes direct the background study process, including what different entities are required to initiate background studies.
In most cases, background studies are initiated and submitted for the study subject by the affiliated entity.
If the study subject is required to start the application for their background study, they will receive an "Applicant Initiated Instruction Form" from the entity and must use the Applicant Portal. The Applicant Portal is the secure portal for background study subjects to complete the date entry of personal information.
To start the application for the study, follow the steps on the "Applicant Initiated Instruction Form" that you received from the entity.
Create an account (if you have previously created an account, you do not need to create another one).
Login to the Applicant Portal.
Follow the instructions on the form mailed to you by your employer.
State law requires background study subjects to be fingerprinted and photographed.
Study subjects will need to complete an online pre-enrollment process and schedule an appointment for a fingerprinting and photo session.
Fingerprint and photo sites are located throughout the state.
The cost for fingerprinting and photography is $9.50.
An acceptable form of identification is required.
The fingerprint and photo process should take about five-to-10 minutes and is completed by a trained technician.
Fingerprint images are transmitted through a secure system to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) and in some cases when required by law, the fingerprints are also transmitted securely to the FBI for a criminal record search.
A check of the Child Abuse Neglect Registry (CANR) is required for certain study types when an individual has lived outside of the state in the last five years or currently lives outside of the state.
Every state has a different set of rules as to how DHS is allowed to request the CANR checks. Any forms authorizing a CANR check must be returned to DHS. Fees required by another state for a CANR check will be covered by DHS.
Most background study determinations are made within 24 to 48 hours from the time when information is submitted. In some cases, more time is needed to complete the study. For example, staff must determine whether the information belonging to the study subject will result in the subject's disqualification. Additional information might be required from a court, law enforcement or other agency.
Study subjects will receive a notice by U.S. Postal Service mail. Entities receive electronic notices of background study determinations. People with cleared background studies may begin providing direct contact services immediately. People who are disqualified will be sent a notice informing them of their status and their right to appeal.
Specific provider types
Background study processes involve some different steps for these provider types: