skip to content
Primary navigation

About the State Designer Selection Board

The State Designer Selection Board (SDSB) selects the primary designer on building construction or remodeling projects for:

  • state agencies (except the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board);
  • the University of Minnesota; and
  • Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

SDSB is involved on all building construction or remodeling projects with an estimated cost greater than $2,000,000 and on planning projects with estimated fees greater than $200,000. Selection for Primary Designer is based on qualifications.

SDSB also selects the design build team (both the contractor and primary designer) for all building construction or remodeling projects that are funded by the state. Selection for the design build team is based on either qualifications or price.

For more on SDSB's role in projects, see Minnesota Statute 16B.33Minnesota Statute 16C.33, and Minnesota Rules Chapter 3200.

Board Members

Members Sponsored By/Representing: Term Ends
William Beyer - Chair American Institute of Architects (AIA) Jan 2023
Theodore Tucker - Vice Chair Public Member Jan 2023
Susan Estes American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC/MN) Jan 2026
Sue Anderson - Secretary
Minnesota State Arts Board Jan 2025
Scott Weicht Associated General Contractors (AGC) Jan 2026
Katherine Leonidas Public Member Jan 2023

Exofficio Members

Name Sponsored By/Representing: Phone Number
Eric Radel, Non-Voting Member Commissioner of Administration 651-201-2380
Samantha Hicks, Interim Executive Secretary Commissioner of Administration 651-201-2389

Virtual Meetings

*Please note: the following changes are general process changes, each RFP will have specific requirements that will need to be followed when submitting your response.

back to top