skip to content
Primary navigation
Feature image for

Apply for a Real Estate License

Abstracter and Abstracter Individual Proprietor

  1. Pass the Abstracter prelicensing exam at PSI.
    • Original passing results for the prelicensing exam that was completed at PSI will be sent to us electronically. The exam may not be more than one year old at the time of application for licensure.
  2. Submit the license application at www.pulseportal.com
    • The license fee is $50.
  3. A licensed abstracter may not act as the licensed abstracter for more than one company at any one time.
  4. An applicant must submit an annual bond or abstracter's liability pursuant to 386.66. The bond should mailed to:
    • Department of Commerce – Licensing  
      85 7th Place East #600  
      St. Paul, MN 55429
  5. Applicants that are title insurance companies regulated by Minnesota Statutes 68A and  licensed pursuant to >Minnesota Statutes 60A.02 and 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (7), and  their employees, are exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed.
  6. Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, will be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.

Abstracter Company

  1. Submit the license application at www.pulseportal.com
    • The license fee is $50.
  2. Applicants that are title insurance companies regulated by Minnesota Statutes 68A and  licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 60A.02 and 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (7), and their employees, are exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed.
  3. Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, shall be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but shall be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.
  4. Applicants having cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota in an amount equal to the required bond or insurance policy, will be exempt from furnishing the bond or an insurance policy, but will be liable to the same extent as if a bond or insurance policy has been given and filed. Applicants claiming this exemption must attach proof of the cash or securities on deposit with the state of Minnesota.
Back to top

Broker | Resident and Nonresident Real Estate

  1. The license fee is $190. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of broker license is two years, expiring on June 30.
  2. You must complete the 30 hour broker course. You must have at least 3 years of licensed real estate salesperson experience in Minnesota or another state with comparable requirements within the 5 years prior to the date of application for the broker's examination. If this experience was obtained in a capacity not requiring a Minnesota real estate license, sporadically in Minnesota over the past 5-year period, or in another state, you must first submit a Request for Waiver of Salesperson Experience to sit for Broker Exam (.pdf) form. Applicants who wish to be considered for a waiver of the salesperson experience requirement must submit this form to the Commerce Department and receive approval prior to taking the broker exam. If the waiver is approved, attach copy of the department approval letter with the broker application.
  3. Active Duty Military, Veterans, and their Spouses
    The commissioner shall grant a waiver of the real estate licensing experience requirement for the broker's examination to a qualified individual whose license lapsed or became ineffective and who applies for the waiver. The qualified individual shall not be required to pay a fee or charge for applying for the waiver or retaking the examination. The qualified individual may retake the examination under the terms of the waiver. For purposes of this paragraph, "qualified individual" means:
    • an active duty military member on the date of license cancellation or the date by which a timely renewal must have been made; 
    • the spouse of an active duty military member on the date of license cancellation or the date by which a timely renewal must have been made; 
    • a veteran or spouse of a veteran who has left service in the two years preceding the date of license cancellation or the date by which a timely renewal must have been made, and has confirmation of an honorable or general discharge status.

    Applicants who wish to be considered for this waiver of the salesperson experience requirement must submit a Request for Waiver of Salesperson Experience Waiver to sit for Broker Exam (Military) (.pdf) to the Commerce Department and receive approval prior to taking the broker exam. Once we complete our review, we will notify the applicant in writing. If the waiver is approved, attach copy of the department approval letter with the broker application

  4. Applicants who wish to be considered for an additional broker's license must submit an additional Broker's License Request (.pdf) to the Commerce Department. E-mail a copy of the department approval letter and a copy of your application confirmation page (printed from PULSE portal) to "Real Estate Licensing".

Information for a Nonresident Applicant with an active license in a Reciprocal State

* Must reside in and hold an active broker license in a Reciprocal State: Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

  1. The license fee is $195. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a broker license is two years, expiring on June 30.

  2. After submitting an electronic application, you must also email a Letter of Certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that you are currently licensed as a broker and reside in Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, or Wisconsin.

  3. Applicants with an active Wisconsin license must also email course completion certificates documenting completion of a Minnesota broker course of at least 13 hours and must email original passing results for the Minnesota State Laws portion of the written examination (get exam information on our website). The written exam cannot be more than one year old at the time of application for licensure. Applicants with active Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, or South Dakota license are not required to submit this information.

Information for a Nonresident Applicant with an active license in a Non-Reciprocal State

  1. Applicants with an active license in a non-reciprocal state must comply with Minnesota broker license requirements. The license fee is $195. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a broker license is two years, expiring on June 30.

  2. If your license is currently active at the time of application, you must email your original passing exam results for the Minnesota State Laws portion of the exam. (You do not need to include the original passing exam results for the national portion of the exam.)

  3. If your license is inactive at the time of application, you must email your original passing exam results for both national and state laws portion of the exam to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us.

Remember: A broker must first apply for a business entity license (unless he or she is going to be affiliated with an active Minnesota licenses real estate company).

Back to top

Broker | Limited

  1. Submit the license application at www.pulseportal.com
  2. The license fee is $180.
  3. If the limited broker meets the requirements to waive the trust account notice, a completed Trust Account Notice Waiver Certification . The form must be attached to the online limited broker application. The application will not be processed until the appropriate documents are attached.
  4. A limited broker is authorized to conduct real estate transactions as principal only.
    • A limited broker license does not authorize the licensee to: 
    • manage or sell property on behalf of others, 
    • employ salespersons or agents, 
    • conduct any residential mortgage activities, or 
    • conduct commercial mortgage loan activities (other than commercial mortgage loan brokering).
  5. A limited broker license issued to: 
    • an individual will authorize only the individual to act on the individual's own behalf, 
    • a partnership will authorize only the general partners to act on behalf of the partnership, 
    • a corporation will authorize only the elected officers to act on behalf of the corporation, and 
    • an LLC or trust will authorize only the elected or managing members to act on behalf of the LLC or trust.
  6. A limited broker's license also authorizes the licensee to engage in negotiation of commercial mortgage loans as principal only. A limited broker's license does not authorize the licensee to engage in negotiation of any residential mortgage loans.

Closing Agent

Resident Closing Agent

The license fee is $115. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a license is two years, expiring on June 30.

You must successfully complete the required eight-hour prelicensing education course.

If the closing agent meets the requirements to waive the trust account notice, a completed Trust Account Notice Waiver form (.pdf) may be attached to the closing agent application, in place of obtaining a trust account. 

The Trust Account Notice Waiver Certification form must be emailed along with a copy of the application confirmation page. The application will not be processed until the appropriate documents are received.

Back to top

Company

  • The license fee is $180. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. The term of a company license is two years, expiring on June 30.
  • If you apply as a corporation, you must have at least one elected officer who is individually licensed to act as the primary broker for the corporation.
  • If you apply as a partnership, you must have at least one partner individually licensed to act as the primary broker for the partnership.
  • If you apply as another type of business entity (e.g. LLC), you must have at least one elected manager who is individually licensed to act as the primary broker for the business entity.
  • The individual broker application must be submitted within 30 days of the approval date of the real estate company application. The Department of Commerce may cancel a company license if the company does not have a primary broker associated with it.
  • If you meet the requirements to waive the trust account notice, a completed Trust Account Notice Waiver Certification (.pdf) may be emailed to Licensing.
  • Each officer of the corporation who intends to act as a broker must obtain an individual broker license prior to acting in the capacity of a broker.
  • Each manager, governor, member, officer, owner, or partner who intends to act as a broker must obtain an individual broker license prior to acting in the capacity of a broker.
  • If you apply for a Non Resident Real Estate Company License you must submit a Certificate of Authority to Transact Business in Minnesota.
Back to top 

Salesperson | Resident and Non-resident Real Estate

Information for a Resident Applicant 

  1. Complete the pre-licensing education requirements and exams. Pre-license education and exam information can be found on the Education page. Please note: The written exam is valid for one-year from the pass date.
  2. Only a licensed primary broker can submit an application for a salesperson’s application. Contact a licensed primary broker in order to submit an application for licensure.
  3. The license fee is $110. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. 
  4. The term of a salesperson license is two years, expiring on June 30.

Information for a Non-resident Applicant with an Active License in a Reciprocal State

* The applicant must reside in and hold an active real estate license in one of the following reciprocal States: Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Oklahoma.

  1. Only a MN licensed primary broker can submit an application for a non-resident salesperson’s license. Contact a MN licensed primary broker in order to submit an application for licensure.
  2. The license fee is $110. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. 
  3. After submitting an electronic application with a MN licensed primary broker, you must also email a Letter of Certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that you are currently licensed as a salesperson in a reciprocal state.
  4. The term of a salesperson license is two years, expiring on June 30.

Information for a Non-resident Applicant with an Active License in Wisconsin

*The applicant must reside and hold an active license in Wisconsin.

  1. Wisconsin residents with an active Wisconsin salesperson’s license must complete a Minnesota salesperson’s course of at least 13 hours and pass the Minnesota State Laws portion of the exam. 
    • The 13-hour “WI to MN Reciprocal Course” can be found on www.pulseportal.com. The contact information for the exam center can be found on the Education page under the “Examination” tab.
    • The exam and WI to MN course cannot be more than one year old at the time of application for licensure. 
  2. Only a MN licensed primary broker can submit a non-resident salesperson’s application. Contact a MN licensed primary broker in order to submit an application for licensure.
  3. The license fee is $110. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. 
  4. After submitting an electronic application with a MN licensed primary broker, you must also email a Letter of Certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that you are currently licensed as a salesperson in Wisconsin. 
  5. The term of a salesperson license is two years, expiring on June 30.

Information for a Non-resident Applicant with an active license in a Non-Reciprocal State

*The applicant must reside and hold an active license in a non-reciprocal state.

  1. If you are an applicant in which resides and holds an active salesperson license in a non-reciprocal state, you must complete Minnesota pre-licensing Courses 1, Course 2, and Course 3. Applicant must have passed Course 1 prior to taking the salesperson examination. Course 2 and Course 3 may be completed before or after taking the examination.
  2. Pass the State exam. We will waive the National exam if you are active in your home state and can provide a letter of certification during the application process. Letters of certification will not be accepted if they are older than 90 days. If you are inactive, you will have to take the National portion of the exam.
  3. Only a MN licensed primary broker can submit a non-resident application. Contact a licensed primary broker in order to submit an application for licensure.
  4. The license fee is $110. In addition, the online system vendor also charges processing fees. 
  5. The term of a salesperson license is two years, expiring on June 30.

How to Submit an Application (For Brokers)

*Only a licensed primary broker can submit these types of license applications.

  1. Submit the license application at: www.pulseportal.com
  2. Select "Minnesota Department of Commerce" as the program. 
  3. Select "Real Estate" as the board. 
  4. Click on "Submit License Application." 
  5. Select “Individual” as the entity type.
  6. Select the correct license type that you are applying for. 
  7. You will then be asked to log in using your user name and password of the licensed real estate company that the individual will be associated with. 
  8. After successfully logging in you will be able to follow the necessary steps to complete the application.  
    • The licensed primary broker can also use the PULSE portal to check the status of a salesperson application, and after it has been approved, they can print a copy of the salesperson license. 
    • The licensed primary broker can also use the PULSE portal to make profile changes, print other licenses, and process renewals. 
    • Please remember that it is the responsibility of the primary broker and the licensee to maintain the individual's license.

Back to top

back to top