skip to content
Primary navigation

Licensing help for adult day providers

Adult day centers provide services to adults who have functional impairments on a regular basis for periods of fewer than 24 hours during the day in a setting that is not a residence. They are licensed by the Department of Human Services (DHS). County agencies have been delegated the authority to license family adult day services that are provided in the license holder’s primary residence.

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

On March 13, 2020, Governor Tim Walz declared a peacetime emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Licensing is establishing this webpage to provide counties, tribes, providers and members of the public with information specific to responding to the COVID-19 as it relates to DHS programs.

Adult day centers

Adult day centers are center-based facilities directly licensed by DHS that provide adult day services to adults who have functional impairments on a regular basis for periods of fewer than 24 hours during the day in a setting that is not a residence. See Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.9600 to 9555.9730.

Other licensing requirements

The Minnesota Department of Health licenses and regulates certain facilities as it relates to sanitation and safety of the buildings and to the health, treatment, comfort, safety, and well-being of the persons being served. Depending on the type of service that you intend to provide in your facility, you may need a license from each state agency. Additional information for MDH licensing information may be found on their website for:

Food, Beverage and Lodging (FBL) License

Food Manager Certification

Family adult day services

Adult day centers statutes and rules

Sample policies and checklists

back to top