skip to content
Primary navigation

License requirement changes for customized living services providers

The license requirement for customized living services (CLS) will change effective Aug. 1, 2021. On Aug. 1, 2021, all registered housing with services establishments must have an assisted living facility license according to Minnesota Statutes, to provide what Minnesota law has historically described as “assisted living” services. This applies to the following Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver programs:

  • Elderly Waiver (EW)
  • Brain Injury (BI)
  • Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI)

Under the new law, each assisted living facility will have one single, integrated license that combines an assisted living resident’s housing and services. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is issuing the new assisted living facility license.

This new licensure will require providers to enroll with Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) or update their current enrollment records. Providers can use the Minnesota Provider Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) portal to review their enrollment records, submit enrollment applications and materials to MHCP, and check the status of enrollment submissions.

If you still have additional questions regarding your enrollment with MHCP for customized living services, email, or call the Provider Call Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411.

back to top