County Law Libraries Program
The Minnesota State Law Librarian is required by Minn. Stat. 134A.16 to advise and assist development of county law libraries throughout the state. The State Law Librarian or his/her designee makes on-site visits to the libraries, submits recommendations for solving problems or addressing issues confronting the boards of trustees and provides training in law library management and develops cooperative programs.
Annual Subscription Rates
Tier 1: $250 per year
- Provide print copies of Minnesota Statutes (market value $255), Minnesota Rules (market value $300) and Laws of Minnesota (market value $54), to be sent as they are published.
- Phone and/or email assistance with any or all of the following: collection development/maintenance, fees, policies and procedures, hiring, vendor questions, billing issues, and other related library management issues.
3% revenue from prior fiscal year not to exceed $3000. (Minimum fee is $300.)
- All Tier 1 services.
- One annual on-site visit to a County Law Library location by the State Law Librarian or designee.
- Evaluation of library's print and electronic contracts. Recommendations will be provided.
- Evaluation of existing print collection. Recommendations for additions or weeding will be provided.
- Advice on setting up and maintaining a legal clinic.
- Advice on law library budget, including a review of current expenses.
- Creation and annual updating of a social and legal service provider list specific to the area. Information can be provided to the County in a brochure, flyer and/or electronic format.
- Access to a toll free number to the State Law Library reference desk, which can be posted in the County Law Library for use by County Law Library patrons and/or staff.
- Assistance collaborating with the local public library for shared collection, shared services, research training or other cooperative partnerships.