skip to content
Primary navigation


The Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind & Hard of Hearing (MNCDHH) produced 14 videos that explain Minnesota's voting process in American Sign Language (ASL). The videos include information about voter registration, early voting, and voting in person. Each video covers a single topic, allowing voters to find exactly the information that they are seeking without having to review extraneous content. Several of the videos walk the viewer through the steps involved in using online tools available on the Secretary of State’s website.

The videos are narrated in ASL, with English voiceover and with closed captioning. A descriptive transcript for each video is also available. 

Voter Registration

  • Find Out if You Can Vote (2:04) 
  • Paper Voter Registration (6:37) 
  • Online Voter Registration (9:23)
  • Check Your Registration (2:41)

Early Voting

  • How to Vote Early in Person (6:58) 
  • How to Vote Early by Mail – Apply Online (7:29) 
  • How to Vote Early by Mail – Paper Application (8:23) 
  • What to Do When You’ve Received an Absentee Ballot and You’re Registered (5:16) 
  • What to Do When You’ve Received an Absentee Ballot and You’re Unregistered (14:18) 
  • Check on Your Absentee Ballot’s Status (2:36)

Voting on Election Day

  • What to Expect When You Go to Vote! (8:56) 
  • Same Day Voter Registration (8:05) 
  • Find Your Polling Place (2:26) 
  • See Your Ballot Ahead of Time (3:09)


Special thanks to the individuals and organizations who were involved in this massive undertaking. They are as follows:

  • ASL narrator: Sarah Houge, CDI 
  • ASL master: Emory K. Dively, CDI 
  • Filming & editing: Peter Zenner, Roger Egge and Kurt Rotter, ZenMation
  • ASL interpreter: Patty Gordon, CI/CT
  • Voiceover narration: John Goodrich
  • Original content provider: Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State
  • Content expert and script-writer: Beth Fraser, Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind & Hard of Hearing (MNCDHH)
  • Project manager: Anne Sittner Anderson, Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind & Hard of Hearing (MNCDHH)

We would also like to thank the individuals who were featured in our voting scenes. They are:

Claire Alexander, David Andrews, Rick Cardenas, John Lee Clark, Martha Davies, Emory K. Dively, Margaret Endres, Galinda K. Goss-Kuehn, Nadine Grippa, Larry Lubbers, Dawn Moder, Mai Vue, John Wodele and Peter Zenner. 

“I hope that deaf and deafblind Minnesotans will find these videos immensely helpful. The Commission is providing a real service to the community by providing voting information in a way that is accessible to voters, whether they be deaf or hearing.” Secretary of State Steve Simon

“These 14 voting videos are a continuation of the great work that the Commission has done for years to ensure full access to Deaf Minnesotans so they are aware of their voting rights and can become enthusiastically engaged in civic life.”  Commission Chair Jason Valentine

back to top