Includes Medical Gas Wholesaler
A Minnesota Board of Pharmacy-issued wholesaler license is a six-digit number that begins with a “3”. If your current license begins with any other number, please refer back to the license menu to find the appropriate license for your facility.
Any facility or other entity that engages in wholesale drug distribution in Minnesota must first obtain a drug wholesaler license. A separate license must be obtained for each facility engaged in wholesale drug distribution within this state and for each out-of-state location from which drugs are shipped into this state.
All fees are non-refundable.
To avoid late fees, renewal applications, supporting documentation, and correct payment must be received as a complete packet by the Board, prior to the expiration date. Any payment received without an application will not be processed. Licenses are mailed to the facility’s physical address.
Renewal Applications and Instructions
License renewal payments are due May 1 of each year, and licenses expire May 31 of each year. Payments must accompany the renewal form and be submitted in the form of a check or money order payable to the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy. Renewals cannot be paid online at this time.
2023-2024 Renewal Application
Application for a New Wholesaler License
- Use this application to apply for a new wholesaler license. Complete the form 60 days prior to opening.
Facility Category Change Notification
Officer Reporting Form
- Use this notification to change the categories of the facility.
Officer Change Form
- Use this form to report the officers of the facility
License Closure Form
- Use this form to report any change to the officers of the facility. Officer changes must be reported to the Board within 30 days of the change.
Change of Ownership Form
- Submit this form 14 days prior to the date the facility closes or will no longer conduct business in Minnesota.
- A change of ownership requires a change of ownership application to be submitted to the Board 30 days prior to the effective date of the change. A new license is not issued for the change and there is not a fee.
The following are some examples of ownership changes that require you to report a change of ownership.
Name Change Form
- Sale to another individual;
- Major stock change (if 20% or more of the stock changes hands since the incorporation);
- Sole owner to partnership;
- The addition of one or more partners to a partnership; or
- One partner buying out the other partner.
- Name changes should be submitted 30 days prior to the change for facilities located in Minnesota. Non-resident facilities must report the name change of the facility on the notification form and include the license issued by the home state regulatory agency showing the new facility name.
- Resident facilities (those facilities that are located in the state of Minnesota) must submit the relocation application to the Board a minimum of 30 days prior to the date that the physical relocation takes place. Non-resident facilities must submit a relocation application after their home state regulatory agency has issued a license showing the new address and an inspection has been conducted of the new location. In each case, a new license is issued upon approval of the application. All application payments are non-refundable.
Laws and Rules Regarding Wholesalers: