Continuing Education - Report Your Completed CEs by July 31, 2021
For continuing education information and requirements, click here
Lapse in Registration
If your registration has lapsed for more than 12 months, you will need to contact the Board via email at email@example.com
. For links to Laws and Rules regarding technician registration and supervision please click on the links below:
Renew Online - Portal will be available this fall
Common Renewal Issues
If there is not an option for renewal in your record, one of the following issues may be the cause:
- Your continuing education (CE) hours were not reported. The cycle ended July 31, 2019. If you did not report to the Board that you completed your hours of CE, you will be unable to renew until you send in proof that your CEs are completed.
- You did not respond to the CE Audit with the proper documentation.
- The Technician Training requirement was not completed and reported to the Board. Technicians have 12 months after their initial registration to complete and report their training. See training requirements below.
- There are missing payments on your record.
If you do not see the renewal option on your record, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
. We will help resolve any issue with your account so that you may renew.
Technician Training Requirements – 12 Month Deadline
You have 12 months to complete a Board-approved technician training. Additional information about technician training requirements can be found in the Pharmacy Technician Training Requirements
A technician or a pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) may request an extension at any time during the training process if they find their training won’t be completed in the time allotted. A Technician Request for Training Extension form
must be filled out, signed by both the technician and the pharmacist-in-charge that is requesting the extension. The Board will review each request and grant or deny the extension.
If you have let your registration lapse or have not completed your training within the required time period, you may also complete the Technician Request for Training Extension form
and email it to the Board. Your request will be reviewed and you will receive an email notification with the Board’s decision within two weeks.
Pharmacy Technician Registration, Training and Technician Certifications
Answers to frequently asked questions between the different programs:
Technician Registration is a state mandated program for pharmacy technicians working in Minnesota. You have to apply for a registration number with the state and re-register each year. The state also has requirements that you have to meet to maintain your registration. You have to complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years and you have to complete a state-approved Technician Training program.
The Board of Pharmacy requires every new technician to complete an approved training program within 12 months of becoming registered. The Minnesota Technician Training program is required for you to maintain a current registration in the state. It is a one-time requirement. The Minnesota Technician Training requirement and the Technician Certification programs are not the same or equivalent to the training program. For more information on the Minnesota Technician Training program, visit the tab Laws, Rules and Guidance on our website
The two most common certifications found in Minnesota are the PTCB (Pharmacy Technician Certification Board) and the ExCPT (Exam for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians). While some employers do require their technicians become certified, the Board of Pharmacy does not require pharmacy technicians to be certified.
Your Technician Registration Number
Your registration number stays with you, as long as your registration stays current, even if you work at a different pharmacy than when you initially registered. Your registration expires on December 31 of each year.