Background Check Information for New Pharmacists
Minnesota law and Board policy requires that all first-time applicants for pharmacist licensure in the state of Minnesota complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check. See Minnesota Statute § 214.075
Processing time for a criminal background check is two to three weeks. Additional time may be required if further investigations have to be conducted. It is recommended that graduates submit their application one month prior to graduation
to allow time for processing.
: Effective January 1, 2019
, the fee for the criminal background check will increase from $32.00 to $33.25. Applications as of January 1, 2019 will be posted with the new fee. If you have already printed an application and will be submitting your materials to the Board after January 1, 2019, please be sure to submit the correct fee amount to ensure timely processing of your application.
This also applies to anyone who wishes to initiate the pre-application process. The new fees will be charged after January 1, 2019.
Minnesota Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP)
In 2017 Minnesota legislators implemented a program to promote public health and welfare by detecting diversion, along with abuse and misuse of prescriptions for controlled substances as defined in Minnesota Statutes Section 152.126
. This law requires all Minnesota pharmacists
practicing within the state are to register and maintain a user account with the PMP. Visit pmp.pharmacy.state.mn.us
for more information on how to comply with this law once you are licensed as a pharmacist.
License Application Types
There are two ways to apply for licensure in Minnesota.
- License by Exam/Score Transfer - This is an option for applicants that qualify for the licensure by examination. If you have taken the NAPLEX exam in another state and seek to transfer your score to Minnesota for licensure, make sure you transfer your score to the Board within 90 days of your exam date. If you do not transfer your score within the 90 days, you will need to apply for licensure by license transfer/reciprocity through NABP.
- Reciprocity/License Transfer - This is an option for are non-resident pharmacists seeking to transfer licensure to Minnesota.
Effective July 1, 2019, licensing fees in 151.065 have changed. Sec. 26. Minnesota Statues 2018, section 151.065, subdivisions one through three, have been amended.
Reciprocity and license transfer applicants
New graduates and qualifying applicants applying for licensure as pharmacists for the first time
Guidelines and Information
Additional Information and Helpful Links
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information