License and Registration
Fee Increases Effective July 1, 2019
Legislation enacted during the 2019 Regular and Special Sessions contained many provisions that will have an impact on the Board’s licensees and registrants. The increase affects all licensees of the Board of Pharmacy. In addition, the application and renewal registration fees for most drug manufacturers, medical gas manufacturers, drug wholesalers, and medical gas wholesalers, and medical gas distributors will increase to at least $5,260 effective July 1, 2019. The Board believes that the Legislature may reconsider the increase in fees for medical gas manufacturers, wholesalers, and distributors during the 2020 Session.
- All drug and medical gas wholesalers: $5,260
- Drug manufacturers (except for opioid manufacturers) and medical gas manufacturers: $5,260
- Medical gas distributors: $5,260
- Opioid drug manufacturers: $55,260 (Reduced to $5,260 if the sunset provision kicks in).
- Opioid manufacturers with sales within Minnesota of over 2,000,000 units per year will also have to pay an annual opiate product registration fee of $250,000.
You can read the Summary of the 2019 Legislation affecting licensees and registrants
Effective July 1, 2019, licensing fees in 151.065 have changed. Sec. 26. Minnesota Statues 2018, section 151.065, subdivisions one through three, have been amended.
Licensing for Third-Party Logistics Providers (3PLs)
Effective July 1, 2019 all 3PLs that ship or transport drug into or within Minnesota must be licensed by the Board. Until the Board can make changes to its licensing database and applications, 3PLs will receive a license number that starts with “3” – like wholesalers do. The following information will help guide you through this transition process.
If you currently hold a license with the Board of pharmacy as a wholesaler, the Board will notify you when the 3PL application is posted on the website. No other action will be necessary at this time. Please check our website for additional updates as we prepare to license you as a 3PL. If you have not identified yourself as a 3PL to the Board, please do so by sending an email notification to the Board’s main e-mail address: firstname.lastname@example.org.
New 3PLs That Are Not Currently Licensed as a Wholesaler by the Board
Until the Board posts the new 3PL license application, you will complete a Wholesaler application to apply for licensure. Please identify yourself as a 3PL on the application. Once the Board licensing database has been updated, we will convert your license to a 3PL license – at no additional cost.
As part of our continual effort to improve service to individuals and entities regulated by the Board, we are transitioning print communications to an electronic platform. This will allow us to rapidly alert you of current issues and provide a more cost effective medium to communicate with you. To ensure that you receive our emails, it is important that you have a current and monitored email address in your record. You can check your record by logging into your account
. If you do not have an online account, you can create one in our online services