Frequent Asked Questions
Do I need a Certificate of Equal pay for each contract I am awarded?
No. An Equal Pay Certificate is valid for 4 years and covers all contracts awarded from the state and/or metropolitan agencies. Equal Pay Certificates are tied to the business, not the contract.
Our primary place of business is outside of Minnesota. Our business employs 40 or more full-time employees, but they are located outside of Minnesota. I have been awarded a contract of $500,000 or more with the State of Minnesota. Does my business need to have an Equal Pay Certificate?
Yes. Your business must obtain an Equal Pay Certificate because the business employs more than 40 employees in the state of its primary place of business and the contract is $500,000 or more.
I have been awarded a contract with the State of Minnesota. At what point do I need to secure an Equal Pay Certificate?
Prior to executing a contract with the state or metropolitan agencies, your business must secure an Equal Pay Certificate. The certificate needs to be renewed, if necessary, for the duration of the contract.
Who must sign our equal pay compliance statement?
The equal pay compliance statement must be signed by the Chief Executive Officer or Chairperson of the Board.
My Equal Pay Certificate was suspended due to non-compliance, but I continue to have a contract with the state. What do I need to know?
A suspended Equal Pay Certificate may result in your business’ inability to receive payment for goods and services under the current contract and may negatively impact your ability to secure future contracts with the state or metropolitan agencies.
Do I need to obtain an Equal Pay Certificate if I have a contract with the State Board of Investment?
Maybe. The Women's Economic Security Act exempts some, but not all, contracts between contractors and the State Board of Investment. If you are a contractor subject to having a Workforce Certificate from the Department of Human Rights, you are subject to also obtaining an Equal Pay Certificate from the Department of Human Rights if your agreement is $500,000 or more. Please contact the State Board of Investment for more information.
Do I need to obtain an Equal Pay Certificate if I have a contract with the State of Minnesota to provide services to vulnerable individuals under Minn. Stat. section 256B?
Maybe. The Women's Economic Security Act exempts businesses that have a license, certification, registration, provider agreement or provider enrollment contract to provide goods and services to individuals under chapters 43A, 62A, 62C, 62D, 62E, 256B, 256I, 256L, and 268A.