NAB Examinations (Updated 5/28/2020)
The NAB exams are live. Candidates should use the instructions found at www.nabweb.org. and Click on Exams on the top of the page, then LOS and NHA Exam on the left. Testing is modified and available on a limited basis and at limited testing centers during this time. Most candidates are able to schedule at this time.
STATE EXAMS: (Updated 5/27/2020)
Our privately-owned building is on lockdown and is not currently allowing any outside contact. We are attempting to schedule one week in advance and have exams scheduled for June 11, 18, and July 9, 2020. Today, we postponed the June 4th exam in our rolling week notice. We cannot proceed with an in-person exam during this time. The contingency plan is to hold additional test date options for those pending the state examination once we are allowed to reopen.
We will keep you posted on the website as to the re-opening and provide a weeks’ notice at a minimum.
ACTING PERMITS or INITIAL ADMINISTRATOR OF RECORD LICENSE
To assure leadership at Minnesota nursing facility communities, we are working with individuals to provide temporary minimums to move forward during this time. If the single remaining step is the state examination, please call the office for an individual consultation on how to proceed during this time based on the nearly completed application. This applies only to those with documented employment issues that must secure a permit or license to serve as the leader of a Minnesota skilled nursing facility.
THANK You for serving Minnesotans and as a board, we will work with you to achieve your goal and apologize for any delays in communication while we try to get a handle on this constantly fluid situation.
ATTENTION APPLICANTS: The State exam fee will change to $100 beginning January 1, 2020.
Minnesota requires all applicants for licensure to pass a 1 hour 20 minute, 34-item, multiple-choice open book exam testing candidate ability to research and interpret Minnesota Statutes and Rules about the operation of a Minnesota nursing home. Information on ordering the Rules and Statutes books to study for the state examination is found below. Examinees will use the board provided statutes and rules books with an index for the examination. You must have an active application for Minnesota licensure on file with the board to be eligible to take the state exam. A state exam application will be sent when your license application is received. See our Fees page under Statutes and Rules tab at top of the page. Current licensure and exam application must be on file with the office to be eligible to sit for the exam. Applications sent by fax or email will not be accepted.
Scheduled State Exams occur on the 2nd Thursday every two months at 10:00 a.m.* Upcoming dates are as follows
- September 10, 2020
- November 12, 2020
- January 14, 2021
To get started:
- Review the Applicant Handbook
- Apply for Licensure
- ORDER STUDY MATERIALS ONLINE - Minnesota's Bookstore
The fee for the State Exam is $100.00 (check or money order made payable to BENHA) and must be submitted with the State exam application by mail only. This fee is in addition to the licensure application fee and criminal background check fee and must be paid separately.
A current Application for Licensure, Exam Application, and all applicable fees must be received in the office be registered for this exam.
Minnesota, with all 50 states and DC, requires its licensees to complete the examination developed by the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators - the NAB exam. It is a 150-item multiple-choice test covering the Domains of Practice:
- customer care, supports, and services
- human resources
- physical environment & atmosphere
- leadership and management
You must have an active application for licensure on file with the state licensing board to be eligible to take the NAB exam. Information about how to apply for the NAB exam will be sent after BENHA receives your application and the $150 fee to begin the licensure process. Registration for the NAB exam, which is computer-based, is online, so an email address is required. Once approval is granted by the Minnesota Board, authorization is officially emailed to you by PSI, with an authorization number and directions to contact a PSI site to schedule your exam.
Applicants for licensure in Minnesota will be required to take and pass the NAB+CORE exam. The fee for the NAB+CORE exam is $425.
Important Notice to Applicants Regarding Exams
On December 5, 2016, a provision in Minnesota Rules 6400.6100 went into effect to include additional preparation after multiple exam attempts:
6400.6100 APPLYING FOR LICENSURE. Subp. 4. Examination attempts and score expiration.
A. If an applicant does not pass the NAB or state examination on the second attempt, the applicant must submit to the board a study plan and wait six months from the date of the examination attempt to sit for the examination a third time. If an applicant does not pass the NAB or state examination on the third attempt, the applicant must submit a revised study plan and wait one year from the date of the third examination attempt to sit for the examination a fourth time. The applicant may also be required to reapply to comply with subpart 3.
B. Examination scores expire two years after the date the examination was taken if the applicant has not become fully licensed within those two years.
Applicants are encouraged to complete the practice exams available and acquire and review study material listed on the NAB website. Links to flashcards used to prepare for the NAB exam can be found on the final page of the NAB AIT Program Manual. This document is also a useful tool to plan practicum with each preceptor.
Individuals preparing to take the State Exam are encouraged to review each text at least twice and become acquainted with the index in both books. The objective of the open book State exam is for the applicant to become familiar with the State Rules and Statutes and feel comfortable referencing the material from the provided texts.