skip to content
Primary navigation



Subd. 2. Membership.

(a) Each council has 15 voting members. Eleven members of each council are public members appointed by the governor. Four members of each council are legislators.
(b) The governor shall appoint 11 members of each council as follows:
(3) the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans must include one member from each of the five ancestries with the state’s highest percentages of Asian-Pacific populations, as determined by the state demographer. The other six members must be broadly representative of the rest of the Asian-Pacific population, with no more than one council member from any one ancestry. The council must include at least five women. For purposes of this clause, ancestry refers to heritage that is commonly accepted in Minnesota as a unique population.
(c) Four legislators are voting members of each council. The speaker of the house and the house minority leader shall each appoint one member to each council. The Subcommittee on Committees of the senate Committee on Rules and Administration shall appoint one member of the majority caucus and one member of the minority caucus to each council.

Subd. 7. Duties of council members.

A council member shall:
(1) attend and participate in scheduled meetings and be prepared by reviewing meeting notes;
(2) maintain and build communication with the community represented;
(3) collaborate with the council and executive director in carrying out the council’s duties; and
(4) participate in activities the council or executive director deem appropriate and necessary to facilitate the goals and duties of the council.

Other Relevant Statutes

back to top