Applicants Previously Licensed in another State or Canada
The following documentation must be provided to the Board to support the application:
- Completed application: Paper Form or Online Application (PLEASE NOTE: Once an online application is started it will need to be completed, there is not a way to start, save, and resume at a later date.) *Application progress can be checked by logging in to your account at https://vet.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login.
- Application fees: application fee ($50); Jurisprudence Exam fee ($50); Criminal Background Check Fee ($33.25) and biennial license fee ($200). TOTAL: $333.25. Please enclose a check for that amount along with your application if you are submitting a paper application form.
- Completed application for Criminal Background Check. Beginning on June 1, 2016, Minnesota law and Board policy now require that all applicants for initial licensure or license reinstatement must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (Minn. Stat. § 214.075). When you apply for licensure, the criminal background check fee ($33.25) must be bundled into your other licensing fees and paid at the same time. After you have paid all required licensing fees and the criminal background check fee, you will be mailed a packet containing additional information and directions from the Criminal Background Check Program. You are responsible for having your fingerprints taken promptly and for completing all required paperwork so as to not delay finalizing your license application. Previously taken fingerprints cannot be used. Some agencies charge a fee for fingerprinting services. Fingerprinting can be done without a fee at the Criminal Background Check Program office at 335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 180, St. Paul, MN 55102. Please contact that office at (651) 201-2822 or email@example.com to make an appointment after you receive the information packet. (Please note: The report received from the BCA and FBI is only valid for a year. Applications that are not completed within a year of the CBC will be invalid and no fees refunded.) NOTICE: Criminal Background Check Information Update: Once you have submitted your application, you will receive a packet via email from the Criminal Background Check Program with in 24-48 hours. Please complete this and return the fingerprinting packet as soon as possible so that your background check can be done while you are submitting the other required items for your application. To view the Criminal Background check process, please go to https://mn.gov/boards/cbc/process/process-overview.jsp
- Proof of graduation from an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine, or, if you are not a graduate of an accredited college of veterinary medicine, certification of completion of the ECFVG or PAVE program is required.
- Certification of license in good standing from all other jurisdictions in which you hold a current license or have held a license in the past 10 years. The licensing agency should mail the verification directly to the Minnesota Board.
- Score reports of all previously taken national examinations in veterinary medicine, certified by the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency if scores were not already sent to the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine at a past exam date.
- Affidavits of two licensed practicing doctors of veterinary medicine that are not related to you, residing in the United States or Canadian licensing jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently practicing, attesting that they are well acquainted with the applicant, that the applicant is a person of good moral character, and has been actively engaged in practicing or teaching in such jurisdiction for the period above prescribed. Please have veterinarians include in their letter an active license number and state where currently practicing. Letters of reference are considered affidavits and therefore require a notarized signature on each letter. Notarized letters may be sent separately from the application form via mail to 335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 215, St. Paul, MN 55102. You may search for a notary using the Minnesota Secretary of State's notary website. Notaries do not need to be from Minnesota; they may be from any state.
- State Jurisprudence exam (see details below)
The Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination is a 50-question open book examination on the laws and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Minnesota. An applicant is eligible to take the Jurisprudence examination when all other requirements for licensure have been submitted, including a passing score on the NAVLE (or NBE and CCT) examination and submission of fingerprints for the Criminal Background Check. You will receive a copy of the jurisprudence exam electronically at the email address you provided on your application. Hard copies are available by request. There is a two-hour time limit for taking the exam. Passing score for the jurisprudence exam is 90%. If an attempt is unsuccessful there will be a $50 fee to retake the exam and a different version of the exam will be sent to you. Applicants are allowed to take the exam up to 5 times. If special accommodations are needed for the exam, please reach out to the Board.
At the Board Meeting on April 10, 2019, a motion was made to delegate authority to the board’s Executive Director to issue a license to candidates that meet all routine licensure requirements. The motion was unanimously approved.