Initial registration fee - $100 (Examples of the filing papers needed with the Initial Registration Form.)
Additional Location Form (For use if an existing firm that is registered with the board acquires another location)
Annual report (Due Jan. 1, 2022) fee - $25
Annual report additional page (If Needed)
Professional Firm Numbers
Minnesota Statutes Section 319B, the Professional Firms Act, requires every professional firm that provides services of a licensed professional to be registered with the Board that regulates the profession. Therefore, any veterinary clinic or hospital that is organized as a corporation, a limited liability partnership, or a limited liability company must register with the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
All owners, officers and shareholders in a veterinary firm MUST be licensed veterinarians.
To register your firm with the Board, complete and return the Initial Registration Form. Along with the form, include a copy of the organizational document, the certificate of authority (signed by the Secretary of State), and a $100 check to the Board of Veterinary Medicine. Examples of the filing papers needed with the Initial Registration Form.
Nonprofit firms that are organized under MS 317A should also register with the Board. Please complete the Nonprofit Initial Registration Form and include a copy of the organizational document, the certificate of authority (signed by the Secretary of State), and a $100 check to the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
The statute also requires that each professional firm file with the Board an annual report containing the name and address of the firm, contents of any amendments to the firm's organizational document, and names and addresses of all owners along with their positions held in the firm. This information is to be reported on a form which the Board sends to firms in November of each year and is due by January 1. Information about Professional Firm Renewal can be found here.
Please note the Veterinary Practice Act (MN Stat. Ch. 156.11) states that any firm violating these provisions is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be fined up to $3,000 per day.
Frequently Asked Questions about Registration of a Professional Firm
Do I need to register my professional firm with the Board?
Minnesota Statutes 319B, The Professional Firms Act requires that any veterinary clinic or hospital that is organized as a corporation, a limited liability partnership, or a limited liability company must register with the Board (filed under 302A, 317A, or 322C). If you are unsure about which category your professional firm falls under, you may find your business information using the Secretary of State's website by searching via your practice name.
Please see above for more information and registration forms.
What do I need to send to the Board to register my professional firm?
1. Professional Firm Initial Registration Form
2. $100 filing fee payable via check to the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine
3. Organizational articles from the Secretary of State
4. Certificate of authority from the Secretary of State
If I purchased a professional firm do I need to refile with the Secretary of State's office?
If the new owner of the professional firm is purchasing the existing corporation no additional filings are required. If the new owner is purchasing only the assets of the existing business, but not the corporate structure then they need to file new articles.
How do I know if my professional firm needs to be licensed with the Board?
If your professional firm is filed through the Secretary of State under Minnesota Statutes 302A, 317A, or 322C and you are a multi-veterinarian professional firm, you need to contact the Board office if you are not registered through the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
An easy way to check what article number your professional firm is licensed under is through the Secretary of State's website. Simply type your practice name into the search feature and click search. Your professional firm should appear as a link below the search bar. The business record will provide you with basic filing information, including the filing statute number.
What will happen if I don't send in my annual report form by January 1 of each year?
If you do not complete the annual professional firm annual report form, you may be subject to a complaint investigation from the Board.