Minnesota law and Board policy now require that all applicants for initial licensure or license reinstatement must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (Minn. Stat. § 214.075). Veterinarians with existing licenses may be required to have a one-time criminal background check (CBC) in the future in conjunction with license renewal.
The Minnesota Health Licensing Boards have cooperatively established the Criminal Background Check Program to help you efficiently complete this mandatory background check. Fingerprints are crosschecked with databases of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and Federal Bureau of Investigation.
When you apply for licensure, the criminal background check fee ($32) must be bundled into your other licensing fees and paid at the same time. After you have paid all required licensing fees and the criminal background check fee, you will be sent a packet containing additional information and directions from the Criminal Background Check Program. You are responsible for having your fingerprints taken promptly and for completing all required paperwork so as to not delay finalizing your license application. Previously taken fingerprints cannot be used. Some agencies charge a fee for fingerprinting services. Fingerprinting can be done without a fee at the Criminal Background Check Program office at the address below. Please contact that office to make an appointment after you receive the information packet.
See the Criminal Background Check information page on our website for more details.
REVISED: Urgent and Emergency Veterinary Compounding Guidance office supply limit extended to 7 days.
Minnesota Opioid Overdose Deaths Continue to Rise. Minnesota’s Department of Health has released preliminary numbers for 2017 which show a 74% increase in deaths due to synthetic opioids from 2016. Much of this increase is attributed to more fentanyl-related deaths. The final report is expected in 2017. Veterinarians are encouraged to be vigilant to avoid diversion from veterinary sources.
Source: MN Department of Health, May 15, 2018
Minnesota Department of Human Services has provided opioid prescribing guidelines for health care providers. Information in the guidelines may be useful to veterinarians in clinical practice as well. You may view the guidelines here.
The Secretary of State has an updated website featuring details and contact information for members of the Board of Veterinary Medicine. You may view the site here.