Continuing Education Information & Requirements
In general, doctors of chiropractic must obtain continuing education in order to remain eligible for an active license to practice. Continuing Education must be acquired every year, and the doctor must attest to having completed the CE as part of their license renewal. In addition, they will be required to provide proof of attendance to the Board upon request. Failure to do so will result in substantial penalties.
During the year doctors of chiropractic must complete a total of 20 hours in subjects which have been approved by the Board or a Board approved Continuing Education Sponsor. (This is new . . . please see Schedule of Required Courses.) Some of these hours must be in specific categories as follows:
- 3 hours must be in X-ray or advanced imaging related subjects (technical, diagnostic, and/or safety)
- 1 hour in professional boundaries (preventing boundary crossing and preserving the doctor/patient relationship)
- 2 hours in acupuncture/meridian therapy related subjects (if registered to perform acupuncture services)
- 6 additional hours in animal chiropractic related subjects (if registered to perform animal chiropractic services)
All continuing education requirements are established by Minnesota Rule 2500.1200. Programs must be approved directly by the Board or by a person or organization who has registered as a Continuing Education Sponsor [Minn. R. 2500.1410]
These requirements must be completed by December 31 of each in order to be licensed on January 1 of the following year. For clarification, please review the schedule.
CONTINUING EDUCATION SPONSORSHIP
A person or organization wishing to provide continuing education credit to licensed Minnesota chiropractors, must provide programs which have been approved through one of two methods. [Minn. R. 2500.1410]
This is a program which has been submitted individually with the appropriate application and fee to the Board. The Board reviews the program application and approves or denies the application accordingly. If approved, the sponsor must provide certificates of attendance to Minnesota licensees who participate; including all data according to M.R. 2500.1410, part B (4)
Full (Annual) Sponsorship
This is a program where a person or organization intends to provide 5 or more programs per calendar year. Again, an application and fee are submitted to the Board for review. The application is, in essence, an agreement with the Board. If approved, the sponsor then takes on the responsibility of approving their own programs in accordance with the criteria established in law, and providing attendance reports to the licensee immediately following the program. After payment of the initial fee, the sponsor may approve an unlimited number of programs to be provided during the calendar year in which they are approved, at no additional cost. For a list of annual Active sponsors, click here.
LICENSEES ARE ENCOURAGED TO CHECK WITH THE BOARD TO BE SURE THAT EITHER AN INDIVIDUAL PROGRAM, OR A SPONSOR HAVE BEEN APPROVED BEFORE TAKING A CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM FOR WHICH THEY EXPECT CREDIT. CREDIT IS NOT GIVEN FOR PROGRAMS WHICH WERE NOT PROPERLY APPROVED.
Proper healthcare documentation
Recently, the Board has received information that Continuing Education (CE) providers in healthcare documentation, may be teaching to a level that does not meet accepted professional standards. This has led to a rise in complaints and public action against our licensees. Instructors that teach to a lesser standard may be denied approval for future CE programs.
SPECIAL CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT
For those registered to perform Animal Chiropractic
Those persons registered to perform animal chiropractic, must have, IN ADDITION TO THEIR REGULAR 20 HOURS PER YEAR, an additional 6 hours of continuing education in animal chiropractic related subjects.
For those registered to perform Acupuncture
Those persons registered to perform acupuncture, must now acquire 2 hours of continuing education in acupuncture/meridian therapy related subjects. These hours become part of the 20 requirement, and do not represent additional hours over those required for each year. For a schedule of CE requirements please follow the link.
For Alternative Formats
Licensee's may now take all, or any portion of their continuing education requirements by some form of alternative format, such as online, correspondence, or video conferencing (among others.) However, these programs must be approved in advance by the Board or a Board approved sponsor (just as before.) Also, you must be sure that you are going to receive a proper report to be kept with your records and used when the time comes for your continuing education audit. For more information, see Minn.R. 2500.1550.
For Development of Programs
Doctors of chiropractic may obtain continuing education credits for developing programs which have been taught during the continuing education cycle, and which would ordinarily be approvable. No more than 6 continuing education may be awarded for the continuing education cycle, and may be awarded only once for each program developed. For more information, see the requirements established in [Minn. R. 2500.1720], and send a request for approval accordingly. Be sure and provide all the information required by the rule, or the request may be denied.
For Full Time Faculty
There are provisions for awarding continuing education credit for full time faculty established in Minn. R. 2500.1200, Subd. 6. In short, it requires a request by the college, verifying your full time status. Further the credit is limited to 6 units per year, and may not be applied to X-ray or professional boundary requirements. Letters of request may be submitted directly to the board.