News and Updates
Criminal Background Checks
Minnesota law now requires that all applicants for initial licensure and license reinstatement complete a fingerprint based criminal background check (Minnesota Statutes section 214.075).
Criminal Background Check Fee Increase from $32 to $33.25
Effective January 1, 2019, the Criminal Background Check fee will increase from $32 to $33.25 due to an increase in the FBI portion of the fee. All applicants for initial licensure and applicants for relicensure after a lapse must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. The Criminal Background Check fee is bundled with the application fee when applying for licensure or reactivation.
Instructions about the criminal background check process, including how to submit your fingerprints, will be emailed to you by the Criminal Background Check Program after your application and fee have been received by the BBHT office. Please do not submit fingerprints before receiving this email.
Criminal Background Check (CBC) Exception:
Under Minnesota Statutes section 14.075, subdivision 1, an applicant is exempt from submitting to a Criminal Background Check if the applicant previously submitted a state or national criminal history records check for a license issued by BBHT. Applicants who fall under this exemption, will only be required to pay the non-refundable initial application and licensure fees.
Changes to the Reciprocity Law
Due to changes in the reciprocity law on August 1, 2019, BBHT is in the process of revising all LPC/LPCC reciprocity applications. We hope to get the applications uploaded onto the website by the end of August. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Loan Forgiveness Program for Mental Health Professionals
The Minnesota Department of Health Office of Rural Health and Primary Care administers a loan forgiveness program that is funded by the State of Minnesota. For more information about the program, please see the links below: