skip to content
Primary navigation

Minnesota Indian Tribes

In Minnesota, there are seven Anishinaabe (Chippewa, Ojibwe) reservations and four Dakota (Sioux) communities. Find links to the web sites of those communities that have web sites. Also included are links to other valuable resources.

Federally Recognized Indian Tribes
What does the term Federally Recognized mean?

Bois Forte Band of Chippewa
The Bois Forte Band of Chippewa is located in northern Minnesota, approximately sixty miles south and west of International Falls, MN.

Fond Du Lac Reservation
The Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Reservation lies in Northeastern Minnesota adjacent to the city of Cloquet, MN, approximately 20 miles west of Duluth, MN. The Fond du Lac Reservation, established by the LaPointe Treaty of 1854, is one of six Reservations inhabited by members of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.

Gichi-Onigaming / Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa  
The Grand Portage Reservation is located in Cook County in the extreme northeast corner of Minnesota, approximately 150 miles from Duluth. It is bordered on the north by Canada, on the south and east by Lake Superior and on the west by Grand Portage State Forest.

Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
The Leech Lake Reservation, located in the forests of north-central Minnesota, offers an oasis of natural beauty. Towering pines fringe the reservations many lakes, two of which are among the largest in the state.

Lower Sioux Indian Community
The Lower Sioux Indian Community is located on the south side of the Minnesota River at the site of the U.S. Indian Agency and the Bishop Whipple Mission, a part of the original reservation established in the 1851 Treaty. It is in Redwood County, two miles south of Morton and six miles east of Redwood Falls.

Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
History, tribal government, educational material, links to casinos and museum.

Prairie Island Indian Community
Prairie Island Indian Community is located in southeastern Minnesota, north of Red Wing, between Highway 61 and the Mississippi River. The people of Prairie Island are Mdewakanton Dakota and have lived on Prairie Island for countless generations.

Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians
Historical information, tribal planning, employment and training, Pow-wow pages, gaming, telephone directory and more.

Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community
The Shakopee-Mdewakanton Reservation is located entirely within the city limits of Prior Lake, in Scott County, Minnesota. The reservation was known as the Prior Lake Reservation until its reorganization under the Indian Reorganization Act on November 28, 1969. The tribal headquarters is in Prior Lake, Minnesota.

Upper Sioux Community
The land called Pejuhutazzi Kapi (the place where they dig for yellow medicine) has been the homeland of the Dakota Oyate (Nation), for thousands of years. The Upper Sioux Community is located in Yellow Medicine County.

White Earth Reservation
The White Earth Reservation is located in the northwestern Minnesota counties of Mahnomen, Becker, and Clearwater. The reservation is located 68 miles from Fargo and 225 miles from Minneapolis/St. Paul. Tribal headquarters are in White Earth, Minnesota.

back to top