Yes. Under the previous regulations, “persons licensed in another jurisdiction/without permanent MN license” were only able to be approved for one six-month temporary license. Under the new regulations, if you hold a current social work license in another state, you can be approved to practice in Minnesota with a temporary license for a 6 month period once every 12 months. For example, if you had a temporary license that was valid from February 2019 to August 2019, you could apply for another temporary license in September 2020 to practice in Minnesota for a 6 month once the temporary license is issued.
No. Licensees whose renewal application is approved on or after August 1 will not receive a paper license/renewal card in the mail. Instead, you (or anyone who needs to verify your license) can access your license information at the BOSW website using the Public License Lookup online service, which provides primary source verification. In fact, the online verification is updated in real time and is more accurate than a paper card. Since it can be accessed online at any time, you don’t need to worry about having your license card with you. The online license verification can also be printed if you need a physical copy. The BOSW will still mail a paper license certificate (8 ½” x 11” wall certificate) when you first obtain your license, or if you change license types.
The new regulations provide the BOSW the option of sending license renewal notices electronically rather than by U.S. Mail. However, the earliest the BOSW will switch to sending electronic renewal notices is mid-September, 2020, for renewals due by October 31, 2020. The BOSW will provide more information and notice to licensees in advance of the change being made. Subscribe to Licensing News & Updates to stay informed. To ensure the BOSW has your current email address, log in to your profile to update your email address. Please note that subscribing to receive email updates from the BOSW is NOT the same as updating your license profile. All official license communication will be sent only to the information you provide after logging in to your license profile through online services.
Yes, if you will submit your license renewal application on or after August 1, 2020, you may follow the new CE requirements, even though your current renewal term started before August 1.
Example 1: If you are an LICSW, and your license expires September 30, 2020, you are only required to report 12 hours of clinical content CE (out of the total 40 CE hours required for a two-year renewal term) when you submit your license renewal, rather than the 24 hours of clinical content required under the current regulations that you were notified of at your last renewal.
Example 2: If your license expires December 31, 2020, you may plan to complete up to 50% of your required CE hours through CE independent learning, rather than the maximum of 15 hours under pre-August 1 regulations.
New requirements will apply to any application for reactivation from alternate status (Temporary Leave or Emeritus Inactive) that is "open/in process" as of August 1. Unless your reactivation is approved prior to August 1, you will need to complete at least 2 CE hours in social work ethics and the “Know Your Licensing Law” online service. However, due to technology limitations, the online service will not be available until fall of 2020. The BOSW will contact reactivation applicants with specific information and instructions.
Note that there are no changes to reactivations from expiration. When reactivating an expired license, licensees must report CE hours that were in effect when the license expired (typically 40 CE hours), and the "Know Your Licensing Law" online service is not required.