skip to content
Primary navigation

Log in to the Board's online services to apply for licensure and check application status, renew a license, submit Supervision Plan and Verification, attest as licensing supervisor, and update contact information.

Verify a social work license and view public adverse actions using the Board's online license search.
Click here for Downloadable Forms.

News & Updates

Accessibility and Site Browser Requirements

If you are experiencing difficulty with accessing information on this website, call 612-617-2100 or email for assistance.

In order to view and navigate our site, including utilizing online services, the most current version of the following internet browsers must be installed on your device:

Google Chrome; Mozilla Firefox; Microsoft Internet Explorer; Mobile Android; Mobile Chrome; Mobile Firefox

Utilizing the latest version of the browser helps to ensure your utmost security as you navigate and input your information on our site.  If you experience issues using online services, please attempt a browser update prior to contacting the Board.

Criminal Background Check Fee Increase from $32 to $33.25

Effective January 1, 2019, the Criminal Background Check fee will increase from $32 to $33.25 due to an increase in the FBI portion of the fee.  All applicants for initial licensure and applicants for relicensure after a lapse must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.  The Criminal Background Check fee is bundled with the application fee when applying for licensure or reactivation. 

Opportunity to Serve as a Board Member for the Board of Social Work

There are three Board Member scheduled vacancies for terms ending January 7, 2019.  Read the press release and Board Member Position Description for complete information. 

ASWB Seeking Examinations Writers

The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) is seeking qualified social workers to write questions for the licensing exams used in the United States and Canada.  To be considered, qualified applicants must complete all screening documents and supply other information via email by January 31, 2019.  For complete information, visit ASWB's website.

BOSW Fee Increase Facts

Read the Fee Increase Fact Sheet and Fee Increase History for more information regarding the proposed BOSW fee increase during the 2017 & 2018 legislative sessions and BOSW fee history.

Association of Social Work Boards

ASWB Releases New Blueprints for 2018 Examination Changes

ASWB Social Work Practice Mobility Initiatives

Loan Forgiveness Program for Mental Health Professionals

The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (ORPHC), Minnesota Department of Health, administers the program funded by the State of Minnesota authorizing the health professional loan forgiveness in both rural program and urban program areas.  For more information and to submit an application see the ORHPC website.

back to top