MN Indian Affairs Council: Home

MN Indian Affairs Council


Follow MIAC on Instagram!

Walz, Flanagan Announce Appointments to the Governor’s Advisory Council on Opioids, Substance Use, and Addiction


Save the Date! February 9-10th , 2023 Dakota & Ojibwe Languages Symposium. Registration and location info to come. Questions: Click here to request to present!


2023 Meeting Schedule


Hosting Nation

February 27, 28, & March 1

Cansa'yapi / Lower Sioux Indian Community

May 17, 18, 19

Gaa-waabaabiganikaag / White Earth Nation

August 16, 17, 18

Tinta Wita / Prairie Island Indian Community

November TBD TBD

COVID-19 Information and Resources

Our Mission:
To protect the sovereignty of the eleven Minnesota tribes and ensure the well being of all American Indian citizens throughout the state of Minnesota.

May 2022, American Indian Day on the Hill, President Robert Larsen, Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, MIAC Executive Director Shannon Geshick
Ceremonial Signing of MMIW Taskforce Legislation

Ceremonial Signing of the MMIW Taskforce Legislation
September 2019 Leaders at the MMIW Taskforce Kickoff

Chairwoman Cathy Chavers, Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, President Shelley Buck, and Chief Executive Melanie Benjamin.
MIAC Board Meeting

September 2019 MIAC Quarterly Board Meeting

This Land Podcast

To listen to the podcast, click here

Two crimes nearly two centuries apart provide the backbone to an upcoming 2019 Supreme Court decision that will determine the fate of five tribes and nearly half the land in Oklahoma.

Government-to-Government Tribal-State Relations Training

State employees learn about American Indian Tribal Governments, histories, cultures and ways of life in this award winning two day training.

TSRT Website

Did you know: In Minnesota, there are seven Anishinaabe (Chippewa, Ojibwe) reservations and four Dakota (Sioux) communities. A reservation or community is a segment of land that belongs to one or more groups of American Indians. It is land that was retained by American Indian tribes after ceding large portions of the original homelands to the United States through treaty agreements. It is not land that was given to American Indians by the federal government. There are hundreds of state and federally recognized American Indian reservations located in 35 states. These reservations have boundary lines much like a county or state has boundary lines. The American Indian reservations were created through treaties, and after 1871, some were created by Executive Order of the President of the United States or by other agreements.

The four Dakota communities include: Shakopee Mdewakanton located south of the Twin Cities near Prior Lake; Prairie Island located near Red Wing; Lower Sioux located near Redwood Falls; and Upper Sioux whose lands are near the city of Granite Falls. The original Dakota Community was established by treaty in 1851. The treaty set aside a 10-mile wide strip of land on both sides of the Minnesota River as the permanent home of the Dakota. However, in the aftermath of the U.S.-Dakota Conflict of 1862, Congress abrogated all treaties made with them and the Dakota were forced from their homes in the state. The four communities were reestablished in their current localities by acts of Congress in 1886. The four Dakota Communities today represent small segments of the original reservation that were restored to the Dakota by Acts of Congress or Proclamations of the Secretary of Interior.

The seven Anishinaabe reservations include: Grand Portage located in the northeast corner of the state; Bois Forte located in extreme northern Minnesota; Red Lake located in extreme northern Minnesota west of Bois Forte; White Earth located in northwestern Minnesota; Leech Lake located in the north central portion of the state; Fond du Lac located in northeast Minnesota west of the city of Duluth; and Mille Lacs located in the central part of the state, south and east of Brainerd.

All seven Anishinaabe reservations in Minnesota were originally established by treaty and are considered separate and distinct nations by the United States government. In some cases, the tribe retained additional lands through an Executive Order of the President. Six of the seven reservations were allotted at the time of the passage of the General Allotment Act. The Red Lake Reservation is the only closed reservation in Minnesota, which means that the reservation was never allotted and the land continues to be held in common by all tribal members. Each Indian tribe began its relationship with the U.S. government as a sovereign power recognized as such in treaty and legislation. The Treaty of 1863 officially recognized Red Lake as separate and distinct with the signing of the Old Crossing Treaty of 1863. In this treaty, the Red Lake Nation ceded more than 11 million acres of the richest agricultural land in Minnesota in exchange for monetary compensation and a stipulation that the "President of the United States direct a certain sum of money to be applied to agricultural education and to such other beneficial purposes calculated to promote the prosperity and happiness of the Red Lake Indian." The agreements of 1889 and the Agreement of 1904, Red Lake ceded another 2,256,152 acres and the Band was guaranteed that all benefits under existing treaties would not change.