skip to content
Primary navigation

Volunteer Opportunities

Over 1,500 volunteers serve as role models and critical links to resources that prepare offenders for successful entry into the community following completion of their court-ordered incarceration.

Volunteers supplement services and programs offered by Minnesota Department of Corrections' staff, supporting community reentry efforts and promoting institution safety. Volunteers assist the department in delivery of programs and services that help offenders become educated, self-sufficient, law-abiding citizens.

Volunteer Criteria

  • Be 18 or older and not currently on an inmate's visiting list
  • Complete a Volunteer Application and Offender Association Form
  • Pass criminal history and offender visiting check
  • Complete training/orientation (annual recertification)
  • Abide by all Minnesota Department of Corrections' policies and procedures

Current volunteer opportunities include:

MnCoSA (Circles of Support & Accountability for sex offenders)
To volunteer for a CoSA Program, complete the CoSA Volunteer Application and Offender Association Form and return it to the address indicated on the form.  Please do not use this form to volunteer for any other program.
On Your Feet! (Circles of Support for military veterans)
FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:

CoSA Program Staff
651.361.7648 Telephone
CoSAPrograms.DOC@state.mn.us

Those interested in other volunteer opportunities should contact the volunteer coordinator at the facility where they would like to volunteer.

Facility Volunteer Coordinators

Central Office
Kevin Nelson
kevin.nelson@state.mn.us

Faribault
Maria Hruska
maria.hruska@state.mn.us

Lino Lakes
Ron Wichman
ronald.wichman@state.mn.us

Oak Park Heights
Lynda Lee
lynda.m.lee@state.mn.us

Red Wing
Elise Goebel
elise.goebel@state.mn.us

Rush City
TBD

St. Cloud
Mike Poppen
mike.poppen@state.mn.us

Shakopee
Julie Panning
julie.panning@state.mn.us

Stillwater
Kristen Stickel
kristen.stickel@state.mn.us

Togo
Jeffery Peterson
jeffery.n.peterson@state.mn.us

Willow River/Moose Lake
Edward Stone
edward.stone@state.mn.us

Minimum-Security Facility Locations:

MCF-Lino Lakes
7525 Fourth Avenue
Lino Lakes, MN 55014

MCF-Stillwater
970 Pickett Street North
Bayport, MN 55003

MCF-Faribault
1101 Linden Lane
Faribault, MN 55021

MCF-Red Wing
1079 Highway 292
Red Wing, MN 55082

Volunteer Opportunities

Group meetings: Members of 12-step groups to lead regularly scheduled meetings of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA), Narcotics Anonymous (NA) and Crystal Methamphetamine Anonymous (CMA) groups in minimum-security units.

Community links: Representatives from community organizations are invited to speak to small offender groups to provide links to resources, programs and criteria for participation in those programs.

back to top