skip to content
Primary navigation

Current Fees

  • Board fees are specified in Minnesota Statutes section 148E.180 and are nonrefundable under Minnesota Statutes section 148E.175
  • Licensing and renewal fees are set by statute on a "not to exceed" fee structure which gives the BOSW the authority to set "actual fee amounts" not to exceed the fees set in statute, and are identified below
  • Visit the Board's Budget Reports page for more information about fees and the budget
  • Effective July 1, 2023, US Bank service fee for online transactions will be charged directly to the cardholder
  • FEE INCREASE FACT SHEET
 

 Application Fees

Application Type Application
Fee

(all license types)
$75
Application by Endorsement
(all license types)
$115
Temporary License $50
Criminal Background Check
(fees set by FBI + MN BCA)
$33.25


License Fees

  • License terms may be more or less than the standard 24-month term based on the issue date of the license projected to your birth month two calendar years from the issue date
  • License fees are prorated so you pay for the actual number of months licensed in the initial license term
  • A "grad discount" continues to be in effect for New LSW and LGSW license fee amounts with a 10% discount
License Type 24-Month
License Fee
Licensed Social Worker
(LSW)
$103.50
Licensed Graduate Social Worker
(LGSW)
$189.00
Licensed Independent Social Worker
(LISW)
$305.00
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker
(LICSW)
$335.00


Renewal Fees

Active License Type 24-Month
Renewal Fee
Licensed Social Worker
(LSW)
$115
Licensed Graduate Social Worker
(LGSW)
$210
Licensed Independent Social Worker
(LISW)
$305
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker
(LICSW)
$335
Emeritus Active
Licensed Social Worker (LSW)
$57.50
Emeritus Active
Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW)
$105
Emeritus Active
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)
$152.50
Emeritus Active
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)
$167.50
Emeritus Inactive License
(all license types)
$65
Temporary Leave License
(all license types)
Same as 24-month
renewal fee for active license


License Renewal Late Fees

  • A license may be renewed with a late fee within 60 days of the expiration date of the license
  • The late renewal fee is 1/4 of the 24-month renewal fee for the license type
License Type 24-Month
Renewal
Late Fee
Licensed Social Worker
(LSW)
$28.75
Licensed Graduate Social Worker
(LGSW)
$52.50
Licensed Independent Social Worker
(LISW)
$76.25
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker
(LICSW)
$83.75
Emeritus Active
Licensed Social Worker (LSW)
$14.38
Emeritus Active
Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW)
$26.25
Emeritus Active
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)
$38.13
Emeritus Active
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)
$41.88
Emeritus Inactive License
(all license types)
N/A
Temporary Leave License
(all license type)
Same as 24-month
renewal late fee
for active license


License Reactivation from Expiration or Alternate License Fees

  • An expired license may be reactivated within one year of the expiration date of the license
  • The fee to reactivate a license from expiration is 1 1/2 times the renewal fee
  • See Reactivations page for complete information about reactivating an alternate license
Reactivation from Expiration Reactivation
Fee
Licensed Social Worker
(LSW)
$172.50
Licensed Graduate Social Worker
(LGSW)
$315.00
Licensed Independent Social Worker
(LISW)
$457.50
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker
(LICSW)
$502.50

Reactivation from
Alternate License
Reactivation Fee
Emeritus Active License Prorated shared of 24-month renewal fee
Emeritus Inactive License Prorated shared of 24-month renewal fee
Temporary Leave License Prorated shared of 24-month renewal fee

 

Continuing Education Provider Fees

Clock Hours
(per one-year period)
Application Fee
1-8 clock hours $50
9-16 clock hours $100
17-32 clock hours $200
33-48 clock hours $400
49 or more clock hours $600

 

Late Fees


Late Fee Type

Late Fee
Supervision Plan
Late Fee
$40
License Late Fee $100 plus
prorated share of 24-month license fee
for number of months of unlicensed practice

 

Name Change/Duplicate License Wall Certificate Fee


Duplicate Document Type

Fee

Name Change Wall Certificate
$30
Duplicate License Wall Certificate
$30

 

Fees Charged for Goods and Services


Type of Service

Fee

Returned Check

$30

Online License Verification

N/A

Official Written License Verification

$20

Requests for Public Data

See Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public

Requests for your Own Data

See Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects

List of all individuals currently licensed

$50

List of all individuals previously but not currently licensed

$50

Customized mailing lists

See Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public
*See Data Requests + Public Data Mailing Lists page for information included in standard public data mailing lists
back to top