Applicants must be graduates of an architectural curriculum accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).
Find an NAAB Accredited Degree Program
If your degree is a) not NAAB-accredited or b) from a foreign institution, you must have Education Evaluation Services for Architects (EESA), a fee-based service available from the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), evalute your education to determine if it meets licensure requirements.
For details on all the above, see MN Rule 1800.1000 Subp. 5.
Applicants must pass all six divisions of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). The exam is administered by the National Council of Architect Registration Boards (NCARB).
You can apply directly with NCARB to sit for the ARE if:
Your first step will be to establish an NCARB Record. Specify Minnesota as your jurisdiction, and follow the instructions regarding supplying transcripts/verifying your education with NCARB. Then, under the "Exam" tab, "Request Eligibility."
Establish an NCARB Record
NCARB offers the ARE year round at testing centers across the country. Once NCARB determines you are eligible, you can schedule the particular division(s) of the exam you wish to take on any available date and at any available location. Seats are "first come, first served."
See the NCARB website for more information on dates, deadlines and fees, as well as how to retake exam divisions. Exam fees are set by and paid to NCARB.
How to Register for the ARE Exam
Applicants must successfully complete the experience defined in NCARB's Architectural Experience Program (AXP) before they can be licensed. The program consists of 3,740 hours spread over six experience areas. You will document your experience in your NCARB Record.
Start the AXP
License Application Form
Special note to those who previously applied first to the Board (not direct with NCARB) to sit for the exam: If your NCARB Record shows you completed your AXP no more than six months after you passed your final division of the ARE,
you do not need to complete the license application below. That previous exam application will serve also as your initial license application.
If it was more than six months, then you will need to use the license application form, as your prior application will have been closed as “incomplete.”
If you applied direct to NCARB to sit for the ARE exam, use the application form below to obtain your license. The application packet provides a wealth of information regarding the application process, including links to Minnesota rules and statutes and relevant associated websites (such as NCARB). We encourage you to thoroughly review the instructions and the form.
If you did not specify Minnesota as your jurisdiction when you first established your NCARB Record, you must do so prior to applying to the Board for licensure. Your NCARB Record includes your official transcripts (or, if applicable, your education evaluation) and your examination and experience information. It is a required part of the application process.
Architect License Application
ONLINE Architect License Application
Or apply online:
License Application Deadline
You may apply for licensure at any time after you have completed the education, experience and examination requirements summarized above. Applications are reviewed on Board meeting days, which occur approximately eight times per year (see calendar).
License Application Cost
Licensure applicants must pay a $75 application fee to the Board to review your qualifications.
If your application is approved, the Board will inform you by letter. You must return a copy of that letter and the licensing fee in order to obtain your professional license. The license fee is $120.
Note: You are not licensed and cannot practice or hold out as licensed until the Board processes your license and issues your license number.
Regardless of when obtained, your license expires June 30th of every even-numbered year.