skip to content
Primary navigation

Board of Directors

The make up of MCLA consists of 11 council members, 4 members of the Minnesota Legislature, and staff.  The MCLA members form the leadership of the organization.  Each member is appointed by the governor for a term of four years.  Members are appointed to represent each of the state’s eight congressional districts, and three additional at-large members are appointed; all with voting rights. 

The other unit of leadership within MCLA are the representatives from the Minnesota Legislature.  During each session, the leadership from the state Senate and House appoint two members from each chamber to serve on the council; all with voting rights.

Photograph of  Alejandra   Bejarano
Alejandra Bejarano
Secretary, Congressional District 1
Appointed: January 2022/Expires: January 2026
Photograph of  Juventino   Meza
Juventino Meza
Congressional District 2
Appointed: June 2023/Expires: January 2027
Photograph of  Elvis   Rivera
Elvis Rivera
Congressional District 3
Appointed: June 2023/Expires: January 2027
Photograph of  Marco   Hernandez
Marco Hernandez
Congressional District 4
Appointed: March 2020/Expires: March 2024
Photograph of  Clara  Ugarte-Perrin
Clara Ugarte-Perrin
Congressional District 5
Appointed: July 3, 2019/ Expires: January 2, 2027
Photograph of  Maria-Victoria   Kapitzke
Maria-Victoria Kapitzke
Congressional District 6
Appointed: June 2023/Expires: January 2027
Photograph of  Martha  Castanon
Martha Castanon
MCLA's Chair, Congressional District 7
Appointed: March 2018/Expires: January 2026
Photograph of  Susana   Pelayo Woodward
Susana Pelayo Woodward
Congressional District 8
Appointed: April 2019/ Expires: 2023
Photograph of  Sandra  Filardo
Sandra Filardo
At-Large Member
Appointed: June 2016/Expires: March 2024
Photograph of  Ivette  Izea-Martinez
Ivette Izea-Martinez
Treasurer, At Large Member
Appointed: December 28, 2020-January 1, 2024
Photograph of  Ronald  Salazar
Ronald Salazar
Vice-Chair, At-Large
Appointed: January 2022/ Expires: January 2026
Photograph of Senator Gene   Dornink
Senator Gene Dornink
District: 23
Photograph of Senator  Alice   Mann
Senator Alice Mann
District 50
Photograph of Representative María Isa   Pérez-Vega
Representative María Isa Pérez-Vega
District: 65B
back to top