People with Disabilities


Intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities

Program info

An intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) is a licensed supervised living facility. These facilities provide services to people who have developmental disabilities or related conditions. There are ICFs/DD in 62 Minnesota counties. They serve from four to 64 persons.



Eligibility is determined through a screening process. To be eligible, a person must meet all these criteria:

  • Be determined to have a developmental disability or a related condition
  • Have substantial limitations in current functioning, manifested as significantly sub-average intellectual functioning existing concurrently with demonstrated deficits in adaptive behavior
  • Manifest conditions before the person's 22nd birthday
  • Require a 24-hour plan of care.


An ICF/DD must provide a continuous active treatment program. The program must include outcome-based services that respond to needs specified in an individual service plan. Services must:

  • Be based on the needs, preferences and personal goals of the consumer
  • Be consistent with the principles of the least restrictive environment and self-determination
  • Include opportunities to participate in the community
  • Include functional skill development, reduced dependency on care providers and opportunities for the development of decision–making skills.


The first step in applying for these services is to have a county case manager conduct an assessment of the person's needs. For more information, contact your local county agency or tribe (PDF).


Report/Rate this pageReport/Rate this page