The Governor's Task Force on Broadband is responsible for developing policies to promote the expansion of broadband access throughout Minnesota.

The task force is responsible for developing an action plan to identify and correct disparities in access and adoption of broadband in all Minnesota communities, with a goal of ensuring that homes, schools, hospitals, and businesses have access to the technology and information resources they need.

Minnesota Broadband Plan

This report and plan includes policy recommendations to promote the expansion of broadband access in Minnesota.  The report also identifies adoption and access to disparities throughout the state and outlines the benefits of universal broadband access to the state’s economy, including more efficient delivery of healthcare, education, and government services.

Minnesota Broadband Plan Outline

This document fulfills the second deliverable required of the broadband task force: The filing of a Broadband Plan Outline by January 31, 2012.

2013 Annual Report

This document contains the Task Force's annual report and recommendations for the 2014 legislative session.

2012 Status Report and Policy Recommendations

This document provides a compilation of baseline information the task force used in preparing the 2012 Annual Report and Broadband Plan. In addition, this report includes specific recommendations for policymakers and stakeholders to consider and stakeholders to consider.

Task Force Members

Members of the task force represent a balance of broadband interests, including consumers, business and residential users, educational and health care institutions, traditional telephone and cable companies, wireless providers as well as metro and rural local government units. Members include:

Margaret Anderson Kelliher, President, Minnesota High Tech Association  

Andrea Casselton, Highland IT Strategies 

Angie Dickison, Information Systems Director, Lake County

Gary Evans, Vice President, University Advancement, Winona State University    

Matt Grose, Superintendent, Deer River Public Schools   

Maureen Ideker, Director of Telehealth, Essentia Health   

Bernadine Joselyn, Director of Public Policy and Engagement for the Blandin Foundation   

Steve Lewsader, President of the Communication Workers of America, Local 7201  

Daniel Richter, President of MVTV Wireless   

Duane Ring, President of the nine-state Midwest Region of Century Link   

Dick Sjoberg, Sjoberg's Cable   

Fred Underwood, MIS Director, Fond du Lac Reservation

Bao Vang, President/CEO of the Hmong-American Partnership   

Shirley Walz, Senior Director of Technology for Thomson Reuters  

Paul Weirtz, State President, AT&T Minnesota

Meeting Schedule

Meeting Dates:

December 9, 2014

James J. Hill Room
Department of Employment and Economic Development
332 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Meeting Agenda

Meeting Minutes and Materials