skip to content
Primary navigation

Board, Advisors & Staff

The Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board has 12 members. The Board is chaired by the Lieutenant Governor and includes 11 additional appointed members:

  • The Governor appoints four members.
  • The Mayor of Saint Paul appoints three members with the advice and consent of the City Council. One of the Mayor's appointees must be a resident of the planning council district that includes the Capitol Area.
  • The Speaker of the House appoints two members of the House of Representatives
  • The President of the Senate appoints two Senators.

Board Members

Name Term Expiration
Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan, Chair January 2027
Kate Beane January 6th, 2024
James McClean January 1st, 2023
James Garrett January 7th, 2023
Hannah Hills January 4th, 2027
Melanie McMahon January 6th, 2026
Rep. Isaac Schultz January 4th, 2027
Alicia Belton January 4th, 2025
Senator Carla Nelson January 1st, 2025
Dana Badgerow January 3rd, 2026
Senator Sandra Pappas January 1st, 2025
Rep. Ginny Klevorn January 4th, 2027

Architectural Advisors

Name Title Address
Denita Lemmon AIA, NCARB, LEED AP Associate Principal | Architect Miller Dunwiddie Architects
100 Washington Ave. S., Ste. 500 Minneapolis, MN 55401
Joe Favour Associate Professor in Practice, Landscape Architecture 144 Rapson 
89 Church St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455
Michael Bjornberg, FAIA Sr. Project Manager Leo A Daly 730 2nd Ave. S., Ste. 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55402


Name Email Phone
Erik Cedarleaf Dahl, Executive Secretary 651-757-1507
Peter Musty, Principal Planner & Zoning Administrator 651-757-1501
Cindy Kue, Office and Administrative Support 651-757-1500
back to top