skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Barbers and Barbershops
Alternate Title: Barbers and Barbershops: Various Classes
Description: Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners (BBE)
Subject: Barbering
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:11:09 PM
Modification Date: 9/25/2019 8:14:30 AM
Agency Name: Barber Examiners (BBE), Minnesota Board of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners (BBE) regulates the examination, practice and registration of all licensed apprentices, registered barbers, instructors, barber shops and barber schools.
Agency Phone: 651-201-2820
Agency Fax: 612-617-2248
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners/
Agency Address:
2829 University Ave. S.E., Suite 425

Minneapolis
MN
55414
Unit Name: Email
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): bbe.board@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://bbe.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Renewal URL: https://bbe.hlb.state.mn.us/#/login
Versa URL:
Requirements:

All barbers must work in a registered barber shop. It is the responsibility of each barber to know that the shop is registered. An individual cannot work as a barber in Minnesota without a Minnesota registration, even if they have a registration in another state. It is the responsibility of the barber shop owner and designated barber (manager) to know that all the barbers in the shop are registered in Minnesota.

Review:

Barbers

    Online Services

    Renew Your Registration

     Duplicate Registration

     Reinstatement

    Reciprocity

    FAQs

Shops

    Barber Shop Application

    FAQs

Students

    Exams

    Student Permit and Renewal

Schools

    Become an Instructor

    Opening a Barber School

    Barber School Registration Renewal


Rules: 2100

Statutes: 154

Forms:

Barbershop Application

Barber Shop Renewal form

On Line Barber Shop Application Additional Forms

Students
 

Fees:

Student:

Application fee - $45

Renewal fee - $25

Barbershop:

New Barbershop - $85

Change of Ownership - $55

Shop Relocation - $55


Period of Issuance:

Student Permit - 15 months.

Registered Barber, Shop Registration, Instructor, and School Licenses are issued for a period of one year. 

Registered ()Master), Instructor, and Barber School Licenses expire annually on December 31. 

Barber Shop registrations expire annually on June 30th.


Length of Determination:
Examinations are given four times a year on the first Monday of February, May, August and November. Results of the examination are sent to the applicants within five days of the examination; New applications and renewals - are processed in the order they are received and mailed within 10 working days of completed application receipt.

Requests for applications, certifications and general information are typically answered within one or two days.

Other Info:
Activity: Barbering
Hair Stylists
License Detail URL:

Barber Examiners, Minnesota Board of (BBE) 

Barber Registration Look-Up

Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners (BBE)


back to top