
335 Randolph Ave #120 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102 

Phone: 651-201-2820 
 Web: mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners

Email: BBE.Board@state.mn.us 

BARBERSHOP APPLICATION 
Complete all sections and attach all required documentation. 

Submit the completed application, documents, and fee by mail or in person to the address above. 

IMPORTANT: 
• Your registration may be delayed or denied if you fail to submit a complete and accurate

application.

• Use the checklist on page 8 to ensure all sections are complete.
You will also find helpful resources on that page.

• Submit your application before the scheduled opening of your new barbershop.
License/registration is required before the barbershop opens for business.

• If the shop location changes or the ownership changes, submit a change of ownership or shop
relocation application to the Board within 30 days of the change.

• It is a violation to operate a shop without a registration or operate with an expired registration.
Barbershop registrations/licenses expire annually on June 30 regardless of issue date. 

Applicant Information Collection and Use (Tennessen Warning) 

Information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for barbershop 
registration/. You are not legally required to provide any of the information requested. If you do not provide 
the information, your application will be delayed or denied. 

The Board is required to have a Minnesota Tax ID number and legal name for all barbershops. We are also 
required by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 to have your Social Security Number.  

• We cannot issue a license without having the Minnesota Tax ID number, legal name of the
barbershop, and in some cases your Social Security Number.

• Your Social Security Number may be requested by and released to the Minnesota
Commissioner of Revenue and may be used for revenue recapture as authorized by Minnesota
Statute.

• Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security Numbers as private data on individuals.
• Your Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law.

When registered, all other information provided on the application will become public information pursuant 
to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5.   

Effective August 1, 2020, the Barber Board will no longer accept cash payments. All fees 
must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Minnesota Barber Board. 
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SELECT THE APPLICATION TYPE: Choose one 
 
           New Barbershop $85.00. New barbershop being opened. All Parts of the application must be 
completed. 

 
 
         Change of Ownership $55.00 currently registered barbershop that will be in the same location with the 
same name and floorplan. If the barbershop registration is not current or the name and/or location is changing 
select New Barbershop above and provide previous shop registration number below. All Parts of the 
application must be completed. 
               
  Current Shop Registration Number:    

 Current Shop Name: ______________________________________________  
 Seller (previous owner) printed name:   
Seller Signature  Date  

Seller: By signing this application you are giving the new owner permission to register 
the barbershop with the same name and registration number that the shop currently has. 

Signature required to change of ownership if the barbershop is currently registered. If previous 
owner of a currently registered shop cannot sign explain why below and choose New 
Barbershop as application type. 
___ Deceased   ___ Unknown  ___ Other explain: 

  
         Shop Relocation $55.00. The shop owner and shop name will stay the same but the shop is moving to a 
new space.  All Parts of the application must be completed. 

 
Shop Registration Number    
Shop address before moving   

 

BARBERSHOP INFORMATION: 
Attach a copy of the barbershop business/name registration from the Minnesota Secretary of State Office  
See page 4 for additional name information and requirements  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Barbershop Legal Registered Name (shop name as registered with the Secretary of State) 
 

Address (Barbershop Street Address) Barbershop Telephone Number 

City, State, Zip Code MN Tax Identification Number  
Not Employer Identification # 
 _ _ _ _ _ _ _  

Website: Email: County 

License will be mailed to the address above. If you want us to mail your license to a different address 
please put the name and address here: 
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HOURS: 
Is this barbershop open by appointment only?                       Yes _______No 

_____ Monday from   to    
_____ Tuesday from   to    
_____ Wednesday from    to    
_____ Thursday from    to    
_____ Friday from   to    
_____ Saturday from  _______to    
_____ Sunday from _______ to _______ 
SIZE: 
Total square footage of barbershop: _______________   

Number of barber stations: __________                  Number of sinks:   (not counting restrooms) 
Minnesota rule requires one sink for every two barber chairs in the working area of the barbershop, not 
counting the restrooms. One of the sinks, for every six chairs must be a shampoo bowl. 

 
LOCATION: 
Is this location also licensed as a cosmetology salon?                Yes _______No 
 If yes, how many cosmetologists work at the location? ____   
Is this barbershop in your home?                 Yes _______No  
If yes, the barbershop entrance and barbershop restroom must be completely separate from the residence. 
 
Is this barbershop co-located with another business?     

 If yes, what type of business?: 
Minnesota Administrative Rules 2100.7700 OTHER USE OF PREMISES. 

Subpart 1. Prohibited uses: No person shall use any room or part of a place which is also used for 
residential purposes, or any business purpose other than barbering, unless the areas are separated by 
substantial partition, extending from the floor to the ceiling. Further, any door or other entrance leading 
into the residential or other business portion of the building must be used only for the passage of barbers or 
other employees. 
Subp. 2. Exception: barbershop with beauty shop: Subpart 1 notwithstanding, a cosmetology salon and a 
barber shop may be operated in conjunction, without being separated by a partition of ceiling height. 

 
DESIGNATED REGISTERED BARBER 

• A designated registered barber is required for all barbershops (barbershop manager). 
• A registered barber may be the designated barber of more than one shop. 
• A registered barber, not necessarily the designated barber, must be present during all hours of 

barbershop operation. 
Registered Barber Last Name Registered Barber First Name Barber Registration Number 

Barber Signature: Date: 
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BARBERSHOP OWNERSHIP INFORMATION 
Businesses in Minnesota must register with the Secretary of State’s Office 60 Empire Drive, Suite 100, St. 
Paul, MN 55103, 651-296-2803  (Greater MN: 1-877-551-6767), Email: business.services@state.mn.us or 
website: www.sos.state.mn.us. 
 
Choose One: Attach copies of required documents listed for the business type 
 
   Corporation Certificate of Assumed Name and Certificate of Organization required   
   Limited Liability Company Certificate of Assumed Name and Certificate of Organization required  
   Limited Liability Partnership Certificate of Assumed Name and Certificate of Organization required   
  General Partnership Certificate of Assumed Name required 
  Sole Proprietor Certificate of Assumed Name required for any name used other than owners full name 
 
Certificate of Assumed Name: An assumed name is required for any barbershop doing business under a name 
other than the full legal name of the business owner or entity. If this applies to your shop, you must register 
your shop’s assumed name (or DBA) with the Minnesota Secretary of State. Attach a copy of the Certificate 
of Assumed Name  
 
Certificate of Organization: A certificate of organization is required for any business owner or entity that is 
not a sole proprietor or general partnership. All businesses, except for sole proprietors and general 
partnerships, must register their business with the Minnesota Secretary of State. Attach a copy of the 
Certificate of Organization  

 
 COMPANY OWNERS, PARTNERS OR OFFICERS                                    
     Names, Addresses and contact information for all owners, partners, officers Attach additional sheets 
as needed 

  

 

Last Name First Name Title 
 

Address 
 
 

Telephone Number 
 

City State Zip Code Email 
 

Last Name First Name Title 
 

Address 
 
 

Telephone Number 
 

City State Zip Code Email 
 

Last Name First Name Title 
 

Address 
 
 

Telephone Number 
 

City State Zip Code Email 
 

mailto:business.services@state.mn.us
http://www.sos.state.mn.us/
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INDIVIDUAL OWNERSHIP (Sole Proprietorship) Barbershop name is the owner’s full name (Last 
name, first name) 

Owner Last Name Owner First Name Date of Birth (required) 

Address 
 
 

Telephone Number  Owner Social Security Number  
(required) 

City 
 
 

State Zip Code County 

 Email (required): 

 
OWNER AND DESIGNATED REGISTERED BARBER RESPONSIBILITIES 

154.01 REGISTRATION MANDATORY. States in part 
… c) No person shall operate a Barbershop unless it is at all times under the direct supervision and management of a 
registered barber and the owner or operator of the Barbershop possesses a current shop registration card, issued under 
sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.161, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.26 by the Board of 
Barber Examiners. 

 
2100.7100 SHOP REGISTRATION CARD. 

Upon application for a Barbershop's first shop registration card ... a proposed floor plan will be 
submitted for the board's approval at least 30 days prior to the scheduled shop opening date. 

The floor plan is part of the application, therefore, shop applications are to be submitted at least 30 days prior to 
the scheduled shop opening. 

Renewal 
Your shop license/registration will expire each year on June 30th   regardless of the date it was issued. 

Failure to renew prior to that date will result in additional fees to reinstate the license/registration. 
The Board sends renewal notices as a courtesy only. It is the shop owner’s responsibility to insure the 

license/registration is renewed on time. 

Name Change 
If you change the name of your barbershop, you must notify the Board and the Minnesota Secretary of State 

immediately. 
If the owner of the barbershop has a personal change of name, please notify the Board including a copy of the 

legal document that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, naturalization paper). 
 
 Address Change (change of location) 

If you change the location of your barbershop, you must notify the Board by completing a barbershop application 
indicating the change. The entire application must be completed when the shop changes location. Only the current 
owner of record may change the location of a barbershop. 
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SHOP FLOOR PLAN 
  Please read carefully 

• Draw a diagram of the barbershop floor plan. 
o Each room used for barbering services must have a sink. 
o Each barber station must have unobstructed access to a sink or shampoo bowl within 5 feet of 

the chair or there must be a dispensary that includes a sink for cleaning tools. Two stations 
may share a sink. 

• Include all partitions, doorways, workstations, waiting area, restrooms etc...Label each room/area 
• If the shop is also a cosmetology salon clearly label the barber workstation(s) 
• You may attach a blue print or formal drawing – all items must be labeled, please indicate in the 

grid below if an alternative drawing is attached. 
Each square = 5 feet x 5 feet 

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

 
= Chair =Sink =Shampoo Sink = Dispensary 

A dispensary must be located in each Barbershop and each barber school where hot and cold running water 
is not present within five feet of the working chair. A dispensary is a room, booth, or area with a sink 
where implements will be cleansed and disinfected. See MN Rules Chapter 2100.8100 subpart 3 for details. 
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BUILDING AND ZONING COMPLIANCE 
To assure that the Barbershop is in compliance with current local building and zoning ordinances, 
this page must be completed for all Barbershop applications even if the location has been a 
Barbershop before. 

 

BUILDING AND ZONING COMPLIANCE STATEMENT TO BE 
COMPLETED BY ZONING OFFICIAL, ORIGINAL 

SIGNATURE REQUIRED 
 
I attest that the barbershop located at ________________________________________ 
                                                          (Shop Address) 
as identified in this application, is in compliance with local building and zoning requirements. 

 
 
City or County of Jurisdiction 

 
           
Signature of Zoning Official Title       Date 

 
 
Printed Name of Zoning Official Telephone 

 
 
 
 
CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 

I certify that the information included within this application is true and correct. I also certify that this 
document has not been altered or changed in any manner from the form adopted by the Minnesota Board of 
Barber Examiners. 

 
 
 
Signature of Applicant Date 

 
 
Subscribed and sworn before me this  day of  , 20  . 
 
By _________________________. 

       Printed Name of Applicant 

Notary Seal    Signature of Notary Public 
 

County:    
 

My Commission Expires:    
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

This checklist is provided for your personal use to help you to submit a complete application. 
Have you completed?  
 
 Read page 1         

 Application type and Barbershop information on page 2                 

 Shop facilities information on page 3             

 Designated Barber information on page 3    

 Shop Ownership information 

  Shop corporate ownership information on page 4       

  Shop individual (sole proprietor) ownership information on page 5         

 Read owner and designated barber responsibilities page 5 

 Shop floor plan on page 6   

 Building and Zoning Sign-off on page 7         

 Signed and notarized page 7                           

 Attached Certificate of Assumed Name        

 Attached Certificate of Organization if corporate ownership           

 Enclosed fee payment                                     

 
 
Application Resources:  

Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners 
Licensing, compliance, and inspections 
651-201-2820 or bbe.board@state.mn.us 
mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners 

Minnesota Secretary of State 
Assumed name and business registration 
651-296-2803 (Greater MN: 1-877-551-6767) or 
business.services@state.mn.us or www.sos.state.mn.us. 
 

Minnesota Department of Revenue 
Tax information and filing 
800-657-3777 or 651-296-6181 
www.revenue.state.mn.us 

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic  
Development 
Information on starting and managing a business 
651-259-7114 or deed.customerservice@state.mn.us 
www.mn.gov/deed 

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry 
Workers compensation, wages, and employment 
651-284-5005 or dli.communications@state.mn.us 
www.doli.state.mn.us 

 

 
This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 

651-201-2820 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529. 
An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 

mailto:bbe.board@state.mn.us
mailto:business.services@state.mn.us
http://www.sos.state.mn.us/
file://HLB/BBE/BBEShare/Current%20Forms/Proto%20Forms/www.revenue.state.mn.us
mailto:deed.customerservice@state.mn.us
mailto:dli.communications@state.mn.us
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