Minnesota law and Board policy requires that all applicants for initial licensure or license reinstatement must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (Minn. Stat. § 214.075). Veterinarians with existing licenses will be required to have a one-time criminal background check (CBC) in the future in conjunction with license renewal.
The Minnesota Health Licensing Boards have cooperatively established the Criminal Background Check Program to help you efficiently complete this mandatory background check. Fingerprints are cross checked with databases of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and Federal Bureau of Investigation.
When you apply for licensure, the criminal background check fee ($34.75) must be bundled into your other licensing fees and paid at the same time. After you have paid all required licensing fees and the criminal background check fee, you will be sent a packet containing additional information and directions from the Criminal Background Check Program. You are responsible for having your fingerprints taken promptly and for completing all required paperwork so as to not delay finalizing your license application. Previously taken fingerprints cannot be used. Some agencies charge a fee for fingerprinting services. Fingerprinting can be done without a fee at the Criminal Background Check Program office at the address below. Please contact that office to make an appointment after you receive the information packet.
See the Criminal Background Check
1) DVM degree from AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine; if a foreign graduate, ECFVG or PAVE certificate.
2) license verification from all states where currently licensed or licensed in the past ten years
3) letters of reference from at least 2 actively licensed veterinarians and 3 other adults
4) passing score on the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)
5) passing score on Minnesota Jurisprudence exam.
Veterinary technicians are not licensed or certified by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.
For information on veterinary technician certification, contact:
Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association
101 Bridgepoint Way, Suite 100
South St. Paul, MN 55075
Application Fee - $50
State Jurisprudence Examination - $50
Initial License Fee - $200
Temporary Permit (if needed) - $50
Criminal Background Check Fee - $33.25
2 years (renews on March 1 every other year)