Effective January 1, 2018, the newly created Board of Occupational Therapy Practice will be responsible for the administration of the Occupational Therapy Licensing Program.
Update as of April 23, 2018
: Licensing has transferred to the Minnesota Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. All applications should be submitted through the online portal
Data migration and file transfer has been completed however some gaps in data for existing paper applications have caused a delay in finalizing licenses. Staff are working to correct these gaps and ensure licenses that are already in process can be processed as quickly as possible.
Update April 13, 2018: Final phases of the transition from the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) to the Minnesota Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (Board) have begun.
As of 4/12/2018 MDH is no longer accepting application materials or questions. All questions and requests should be directed to the Board.
Friday April 13, 2018 to Tuesday April 17, 2018- Data migration and file transfer is occurring. Systems are being tested and final links are being created and tests are being run.
When the licensing portal opens you will find an active link along with directions on how to create your online account and complete your renewal.
The following application types will occur primarily through the online portal:
- License Renewal for OT and OTA
- New applications for OT and OTA
- Address, name and practice location updates
- Temporary license applications
Many of these will include components that must be submitted in paper. Please see the application directions for each licensure as they become available.
Note: If you have submitted a paper application through the Minnesota Department of Health, please know that this information will be transferred directly to the Board over the next few days and will continue to be processed by the board.
Renewal Notices were mailed on Friday April 6, 2018. Watch for the portal to open to begin your online renewal process. You will be required to create an online account to complete the renewal process.
Thank you again for your patience as we work through this transition process.
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 214.075, effective January 1, 2018, applicants for licensure will be required to submit to a criminal history records check. The fee for the criminal background check is $32, in addition to the license application fee of $145 for occupational therapists and $80 for occupational therapy assistants. Once the fee is paid, the Health Licensing Board Background Check office will contact applicants with instructions on how to comply with the background check requirements.
Please note: The additional $32.00 background check requirement is only for new Occupational Therapy practitioners. If you are renewing your existing occupational therapy license you do NOT have to complete a Criminal Background Check.