skip to content
Primary navigation

Continuing Education Alternatives

The Board accepts MOC and OCC in lieu of compliance with CME

The Board of Medical Practice has authority to accept and, indeed, has accepted certification or recertification by a specialty board in lieu of compliance with the continuing medical education (CME) requirements during the cycle in which certification or recertification is granted. Minn. Rule 5605.0700 gives the Board authority to do so. The Board recognizes that lifelong learning is important to keep up to date medical knowledge and skills. Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is available to physicians certified by American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) physicians regardless of whether their certificates are time-limited. Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) is available to osteopathic physicians certified by the American Osteopathic Associations Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists regardless ofwhether their certificates are time-limited. Government payers, private insurers, and the public want assurance that physicians have current knowledge and skills. In light of MOC and OCC, the Board has revisited the issue to determine whether MOC and OCC would be acceptable as meeting the rule requirements and has determined that it does. Physicians may need to do CME for reasons other than licensure.

The ABMS MOC is a program of lifelong learning and requires physicians to self-assess their competency. Currently, 24 ABMS medical specialties representing 145 specialties and subspecialties build six core competencies for quality patient care in their medical specialty.

The Six Core Competencies are:

  • Patient care
  • Medical knowledge
  • Interpersonal and communication skills
  • Professionalism
  • Systems-based practice
  • Practice-based learning and improvement

Each ABMS specialty board sets criteria and curriculum for the 4 part process:

  • Professional standing
  • Lifelong learning and self-assessment
  • Cognitive expertise
  • Practice performance assessment

Further information can be found at:

Approved by Board 3-12-2011
back to top