skip to content
Primary navigation
Three Adults Studying in a Library

Pathways to Licensure

In Minnesota, there are multiple pathways to a professional teaching license (Tier 3 or Tier 4 license). The two most common pathways to obtaining a Tier 3 or Tier 4 license in Minnesota is by completing an approved teacher preparation program or being recommended for licensure through the portfolio pathway. Additionally, there are two specific pathways to licensure for heritage language educators and American Indian educators.

back to top