skip to content
Primary navigation

Lawyers & Litigants

Workers' Compensation Mediation

Mediation with a Compensation Judge may be of value to the parties when a case is particularly complicated or when parties could benefit from a Compensation Judge's viewpoint on a factual or legal issue.  The following Compensation Judges are available to conduct mediations:

Stacy Bouman stacy.bouman@state.mn.us (651) 361-7858
John Baumgarth john.baumgarth@state.mn.us (218) 302-6363
James Cannon james.cannon@state.mn.us (651) 361-7852
Sandra Grove sandra.grove@state.mn.us (651) 361-7886
James Kohl james.kohl@state.mn.us (651) 361-7920
Radd Kulseth radd.kulseth@state.mn.us (651) 361-7851
Cheryl LeClair-Sommer cheryl.leclair-sommer@state.mn.us (651) 361-7866
William Marshall william.marshall@state.mn.us (651) 361-7863
Miriam Rykken miriam.rykken@state.mn.us (651) 361-7868
Lisa Pearson lisa.b.pearson@state.mn.us (651) 361-7860
Adam Wolkoff adam.wolkoff@state.mn.us (651) 361-7946


To request an OAH mediator, submit a Mediation Request Form via eFiling. Alternatively, mail it to P.O. Box 64620, St. Paul, MN 55164-0620. 

Upon receipt, OAH will assign a case number and a mediator, and schedule a date for mediation. All OAH mediation files are maintained separately from dispute-related files.  As such, all documents filed on mediation cases must include the mediation case number.

At least seven days prior to the scheduled mediation, the parties should each eFile a confidential mediation statement. The mediation statement should contain helpful background information, a medical summary, and any other information that is relevant to the matter.  A settlement analysis should also be included, along with any relevant medical or rehabilitation records.   

Parties should come prepared and with authority to fully participate in the mediation. Parties are expected to appear in person at the mediation. Out-of-state parties may attend by telephone by agreement of the parties and the mediator. Parties appearing by telephone should sign and return to OAH the Mediation and Confidentiality Agreement prior to the scheduled mediation date.

back to top