skip to content
Primary navigation

About the PUC

The Commission’s mission is to create and maintain a regulatory environment that ensures safe, adequate and efficient utility services at fair, reasonable rates consistent with State telecommunications and energy policies.

One of the key functions of the Commission in performing this mission is to balance the private and public interests affected in each docket, and to make decisions that appropriately balance these interests in a manner "consistent with the public interest."

Commission Members

The Commission consists of five commissioners appointed by the governor to six-year staggered terms.

Feature image for Katie Sieben, Chair

Katie Sieben, Chair

Commissioner (Dem)
(651) 201-2250
Feature image for Valerie Means

Valerie Means

Commissioner (Dem)
(651) 201-2240
Feature image for John Tuma

John Tuma

Commissioner (Rep)
(651) 201-2220

Contact & Directions

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

121 7th Place E
Suite 350
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101
Local: 651.296.0406 | Toll Free: 1.800.657.3782


Members of the media looking for commentary or an official statement should contact:
Cori Rude-Young, 651-201-2241

Bad Weather? Meeting Cancelled?



back to top