skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Pharmacy Technician Registration
Alternate Title: Hold
Description: Minnesota Board of Pharmacy
Subject: Drugs
Pharmaceuticals
Pharmacies
Pharmacists
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:08 PM
Modification Date: 10/12/2022 4:46:32 PM
Agency Name: Pharmacy, Minnesota Board of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/pharmacy/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Board of Pharmacy exists to promote, preserve, and protect the public health, safety, and welfare by fostering the safe distribution of pharmaceuticals and the provision of quality pharmaceutical care to the citizens of Minnesota. The board fulfills its mission through examination and licensure of pharmacists, regulation of the practice of pharmacy, inspection of licensed facilities, investigation of complaints, and the issuance of disciplinary orders and agreements for corrective action. Board staff also helps educate pharmacists and others about laws, rules and best standards of practice.
Agency Phone: 651-201-2825
Agency Fax: 612-617-2262
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/boards/pharmacy/
Agency Address:
335 Randolph Ave., Suite 230

St. Paul
MN
55102
Division Name: Email
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://bopgl.hlb.state.mn.us/GLSuite_MNBOPharm_PROD/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/MNBOPharm/Private/onlineservices.aspx
Renewal URL: https://bopgl.hlb.state.mn.us/GLSuite_MNBOPharm_PROD/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/MNBOPharm/Private/onlineservices.aspx
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Review:

Technician Registration (New)

Technician Renewal


Rules: 6800.0100 - .9954

Statutes: 151
152

Forms:

Technician Registration (New)
   
Pharmacy Technician Application 

All individuals performing the duties of a pharmacy technician in the state of Minnesota must have an active registration.


Minimum Requirements for Registration

The following are the minimum requirements for a Minnesota Board of Pharmacy technician registration (Minn. Rules 6800.3850, Subp.1).

  • Minimum Age Requirement: Must be at least 18 years of age at the time of registration.

  • Education Requirements: Before your application can be approved, proof of high school graduation must be submitted to the Board.
    Proof of high school graduation must be received either:
    1. After you pay online. You may email or fax in your document to the Board’s email.
    2. With a mailed in paper application and payment.

  • The following documents are accepted as proof of high school graduation:
    If your name has been changed and is not reflected on your high school document, please include the name that you applied under with your submission.
    1. High School Diploma
    2. High School Transcript with Graduation Date
    3. GED Certificate
    4. College Transcript
    5. College Diploma

  • Pharmacy Technician Training Requirement: Training must be completed within 12 months from the date you receive your technician registration number, not from the date you became employed. Prior work experience as a pharmacy technician does not waive or substitute for this requirement. Additional information about technician training.

  • CE Requirements: Pharmacy technicians will need to complete a minimum of 20 hours of approved technician continuing education (CE) every two years. More information on continuing education.

How do I apply?

You can apply by any one of the options below:

  1. If you do not have an account and you want to apply online: click here.
  2. If you already have an account: log on here.
  3. To mail in an application and payment: click here for the application.
  4. If you have ever been charged with violating any state or federal law related to drugs or alcohol, or if you have ever been disciplined by any health licensing Board: click here for the application.
Note: All applications and fees are non-refundable.
If you are currently registered as a pharmacy intern, it is not necessary to register as a technician.


Pharmacy Interns
If you are currently registered as a pharmacy intern, it is not necessary to register as a technician.

Technician Renewal 

     Online Renewal

    In Person Renewal
    The Board of Pharmacy accepts in person renewals. The accepted forms of payment are:

  • Cashiers check - For the amount of the purchase total only, no change can be given.
  • Money order - For the amount of the purchase total only, no change can be given.
  • Personal check, with identification - For the amount of the purchase total only, no change can be given.
  • Cash - For the amount of the purchase total only, no change can be given.

Applications are available at Technician Registration (New) and Technician Renewal


Fees:

Original Registration and annual renewal fee - $50

Renewal - $50

Renewal late fee - $25


Period of Issuance:

Registration expires on December 31 of each year.

Renewals are due by December 1 of each year.


Length of Determination: Approximately two weeks.
Other Info:
Activity: Pharmacy
Drugs (Human and Veterinary)
License Detail URL:

Technician Registration (New)

License Verification

Online Services

Minnesota Board of Pharmacy


back to top